Avg 8.0 with antispyware question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by robinb9, Mar 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    When doing a full scan i am coming up with HTML/Active X Compatablilty/ warnings. I am told from the person who owns spyblaster 4.0 that this is their defense for these entries. Why can't AVG issue a patch to fix this?


    Also, when doing the eicar.com test I am finding AVG is popping up but in 7.5 it would pop up with options on what to do with the file. Here it is only popping up telling me that there is a virus through webshield but nothing of what to do with it and when opening the avg program I do not see it in Virus Vault. Why is this changed?

    robin
     
  2. Rouke

    Rouke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    He there Robin,

    I've had eaxctly the same problems with AVG 8.0, Spyware Blaster & 30 Plugins from S&D's Immunization db are being seen by AVG 8 as register key's of spyware. But aren't seen as threats (you can remove them yourself)

    At first I thougt I had an extremly sneaky rootkit, but as it seems it is A confrontation between the 3 programs.

    This needs to be solved anyway!
     
  3. blueoysterdvp

    blueoysterdvp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Upstate NY, U.S.A.
    Glad someone ran across this early.Correct! This should be solved right away!

    If 8.0 isn't going to be compatible with Spy Blaster,that will just add to the total number of customers dumping AVG.

    Makes you wonder how many other programs it won't be compatible with.

    As the other thread states quite clearly,AVGAS should be a stand alone product!

    Personally I've never had a compatibility issue with AVGAS.
     
  4. Steve1209

    Steve1209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Hey Thanks folks, I thought I was going crazy, every other day AVG 8 was finding 190 warning active X's, I'd quarantine them, everything was fine!! I just upgraded to Spywareblaster 4.0 about a week ago & everytime I opened it, some number items under internet explorer had "protection disabled", I thought it was a bug in 4.0 of spywareblaster, I'd enable everything again and the problem would happen a couple days later when I opened Spywareblaster again!

    Little did I know the problem is with AVG 8, Please fix this bug soon!!

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  5. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    it would be nice if someone from avg monitors this forum and sees all these problems and fixes them
    robin
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    There are enough people from Grisoft looking at these threads....:)
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    they have seen your posts :)

    even when people dont realise it, people are ALWAYS watching, on here. :shifty:
     
  8. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    even when people dont realise it, people are ALWAYS watching, on here. :shifty:[/QUOTE]

    ok now I'm paranoid, what AV do I need for that!:D
     
  9. blueoysterdvp

    blueoysterdvp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Upstate NY, U.S.A.

    Then you would think they would know enough to realize how important AVG AS is as a stand alone product.

    ewido 3.5 is the only reason I stayed with AVG.That was a great scanner!
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Its only the support team and some people of the developer team that looks at these threads. Corporate decisions are really out of their hand and they couldn't change such situations even if they wanted to.
     
  11. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Most in the AV/security industry regard stand alone AS apps as dead meat. They have been on the decline for a while. Windows Defender now comes with Vista by default, which some view as the last nail in the coffin.
     
  12. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I agree in my mind how long will it be before SAS gets taken out.
     
  13. Steve1209

    Steve1209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Hi All,

    Has anyone else reported this problem to Grisoft VIA the help (Get Help Online)? I have, I have not gotten a response thru help, has anyone else?
    Just curious, I see the DB def's are up to 269.21.7/1336 but the problem still exist's with Version 8.0.87

    Thanks for any information,
    Steve
     
  14. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    I have the same problem and I reported it and this is how you need to report it because this is the only way they will actually see it.

    If you can make a screen shot of the "warnings" where you are seeing it and save it as a jpg.

    then go to
    in XP
    In Vista c:/Program Files/AVG/AVG8

    c:/program files/AVG/AVG8
    Scroll down till you see avgdag or avgdag.exe
    This is the AVG Diagnostic Tool
    there should be an icon of avg in front of it
    Double Click it and wait a sec for the tool box to come up
    Put in your email address, description of what you are finding, the screen shot jpg you made and click on "Diagnostic and Send"

    When you do this it sends what it needs for AVG to analize
    Also tell them you have spybot s&D and Spywareblaster.

    btw if you put the files in the virus vault then say restore
    Go into spyblaster and you will now see ie partially disabled
    robin
     
  15. Steve1209

    Steve1209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Thanks Robin,

    I'll report it now per your instructions, hope others will also, this really needs to be fixed, thank you for the updated information, *IF* you get an E-Mail response from Grisoft please let us know what they say OK?

    Steve
     
  16. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ

    sure will
    and the more people send in this problem (also with the restore points too- check the post here AVG8 ) the more they will realize it is not just a few with this problem.

    robin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 20, 2008
  17. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    just got this from avg via email

    >Private email removed. See the TOS.<

    This was sent through the diagnostic tool
    anyone else get an email back yet?

    I am hoping you all sent them one too so they can see it is not just me and fix this asap

    robin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2008
  18. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    sorry i did not know we could not post that- i was just passing on info
    but i will tell you i received another email and this is what they basically said and then i will show you my answer which i have not received back yet

    They analyzed the file i sent and told me AVG detects registry key in"ActiveX Compatibility" section. An "ActiveX Compatibility" registrykey is a result of the "Imunize" function included in some anti-spyware programs (e.g.: "Spybot search & destroy", "Spyware
    blaster",...)

    The key contains the same registry entries as the actual threats, thus preventing them from working correctly. Some anti-spyware programs use
    this method to prevent launching of the malware. Unfortunately, these parts are still detected by AVG signatures and that is why AVG marks
    them as infected.

    To assure protection provided by AVG against these threats, it is not possible to remove such signatures from AVG virus bases.
    Because of this, "Imunize" function included in above mentionedsoftwares is NOT compatible with AVG products.

    I typed back this but i have not received an answer as of yet:


    So many people use spybot search and destroy as well as spyblaster as I do too.
    so what do we do just ignore the warnings?
    you will find if they cannot use this they will not use your software and look for other antivirus protections that will allow this function

    Do we just ignore the warnings? Is AVG removing this as a threat? or just telling us that it is there?

    Should be just disable in spyblaster the active x and will AVG pick them up and protect us through through webshield?


    Again they have not answered me back yet
    robin
     
  19. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    robinb,
    I just think we don't need so much security wares anymore. To much conflicting. Just pick a good brand and do a little research to make sure it is good, and stick with it. If you decide to change that is o.k. every now and then. But this layered protection approach may be a little dated. I use to preach that too. :doubt:

    I would include AVG as a possible choice by the way.

    I dropped Spy Bot because the Immunization updates were taking to long. I still think it is good for free but it was just my preference to drop it.
     
  20. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    i use spybot but not for immunization, that i was using spyblaster.

    but i did a test
    I disabled spyblaster's ie active x
    then re scanned with avg 8
    Once it found all the active x's I deleted them as per AVG
    then I re ran another test scan

    this time it found nothing

    I think this is what i will do- just keep spyblaster's active x disabled but leave the rest.
    Actually I use firefox for browsing, I only use IE for security updates.

    robin
     
  21. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I would still recommend Spybot & SpywareBlaster, both as immunization measures. These are must-have apps.
     
  22. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    I agree you have two choices here
    either uncheck active x in spyblaster
    or just ignore the active x "warnings" in avg

    robin
     
  23. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I think I choose the latter choice, robin - until they get it fixed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.