Avetix antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by marciocruz, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,001
    I have got Avetix finally working. Avetix were fairly quick in replying to my inital support email. I had missed the reply amongs the big amount of emails I receive. They told me to redownload Avetix as a new version had been released which fixed the update issues. This did not help, initally. But after reinstalling Avetix just now, the initial update completed without issue, and Avetix is running as it should.

    Avetix support offered to diagnoise my problems remotely via TeamViewer. I've been busy the last few days and was not able to schedule a time. Of course now, there is no need for that, but they definitely deserve credit for trying to help fix the update problem.
     
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Do you have the pro version or free? If they offered to do this with the free version, that's impressive.
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,001
    I'm just trialing the free version at the moment (I would never buy antivirus software without trialing it first), and yes it is very impressive that they offered to diagnose what was going on. Kingsoft did the same for me six years ago when they were first trying to make an impact in the English language market.
     
  4. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    This is my favorite free AV, and without nags.
    Maybe I'll switch to it when my Emsisoft license ends.
    I mainly use Linux at home anyway.
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,752
  6. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    722
    The 'Ad-supported' sentence is too much in this case. The only ads are those, two simple check-boxes, very easy to de-select:

    sshot-10.png
     
  7. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2014
  8. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    Curiosity got the better of me.

    Upon installing Avetix, the UI warned for an update. This downloaded 168MB of Bitdefender signatures as well as updating the installed bdcore.dll from 11.0.1.6 to .12, demonstrating libraries are updated without the need of a system reboot.

    Also downloaded were several files to a folder named db in Avatix's root folder. One is a 45MB file named avxdb.avx and (as discovered in Process Explorer) is used by Semaphore, apparently an Avetix engine. Or not. Another is a 2kb safebrowsing.adb dated March 24. In the few days I ran Avetix, none of the files in this db folder were updated.

    The options pane consists of three areas: Options, Profile and Advanced. While the Profile has four levels (Full, Medium, Light and Custom), it is the Custom level, not Full, where many of the protections can be tweaked to the max. That is, Full is not maximum. Strange, but easy enough to figure out.

    While the sigs update check can be set to one hour, the Avetix server is without a doubt not as diligent in keeping up with BD. Updates jumped, in one example for today, from version 7.57195 to 7.57201 with 7201 about 4 hours behind BD's release even upon evoking random manual updates. That is, the sigs will update eventually with gaps in coverage.

    In contrast, Ad-Aware running on another system updated sigs in sequence and in sync with BD's release timeline. As of this writing, Ad-Aware is at 7.57204 while Avetix lags with 7.57201 even with manual updates. (With an exception here and there, this is the highly effective and consistently consistent update behavior I've observed with Ad-Aware on two systems over the past six months.)

    As to be expected, Avetix was somewhat lax in detecting and quarantining the latest malware as posted in VX Vault and malc0de and not one URL was blocked. Nor were any URLs posted in Phish Tank blocked. Safe Browsing or BD's TrafficLight in Firefox or Lavasoft's stand-alone Web Companion blocked nearly all of the same URLs from VX Vault, malc0de and Phish Tank.

    The BD engine provides signature security and B-Have heuristics, their 1st and 2nd levels. As with any of the other free BD licensed products, Active Virus Control, the 3rd level, is not included in Avetix Free. Apparently, BD charges The Big Money for AVC.

    While IMHO not the best free Bitdefender solution (especially with its inept URL scanning), Avetix is clearly superior to Roboscan's obsolete BD engine and if-we-get-to-it 24-hour cycle sigs updates. And, of course, it's better than nothing.

    Un-installed. *puppy*

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2014
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,752
  10. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    560
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Thanks for all the links per usual Anon.

    Regards Eck:)
     
  11. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    ~Personally directed comments removed.~

    That chart is of the weighted average scores achieved in the last four comparative reviews. Represented are Windows 7 and 8, Server 2012 and SUSE Linux and the various and differing products and versions of all the vendors as offered over time.

    I have long wondered why VB100 even produces this worthless chart. It would be if Cycle World averaged the quarter mile times of several months of dirt, cruiser and sport motor cycles and published a similar chart by manufacturer. Or if Sports Illustrated averaged several months of game scores of all the sports franchises in localities across the nation and charted the results by city.

    VB100 tests Roboscan Enterprise Solution, not Roboscan Free. Avetix was never tested. Not even in Linux!! :D

    Using this chart in one's debate displays only ignorance. (I can do the bold thing, too. And I even threw in an underline!) But unfortunately, with exceptions of course, ignorance is pretty much of what's on display here at Wilders. So sad.

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 12, 2014
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    118,924
    Location:
    Texas
    Keep it civil in this thread.
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,001
    After having a bit of time to use to Avetix, I'm still really happy with it. It is remaining very light. For example when I open my Downloads folder containing hundreds of installers it does not slow down my computer while it scans them unlike just about all antiviruses I've trialled lately.

    I can not comment on detection rates, as I currently don't have any malware collections to test it against, and I usually find it exceptionally hard to get infected - so it is rare for me to encounter malware. It does detect some things that Bitdefender misses, maybe due to heuristics. For example, it detects FrostWire as a generic trojan, despite it being safe and not detected by any scanners at VirusTotal.
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,001
    It's not updating today. It's tried to update every hour as usual, and I even get the popup saying it has updated, but according to the log files it has not update since 11 PM last night. It has been updating three times a day up till now.

    I have not tried rebooting to see if that fixes the problem.
     
  15. bcsman

    bcsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    102
    I tried to install this a few weeks ago and would not update. A few others posted saying they had the same issue. I have read the newest version is now working so I tried installing again, the latest version from their website. Still no updates but according to roger m it isnt for him now either. Just to be clear it hasnt even downloaded to initial update so cant even scan. Guess I will leave installed for a day or two to see if it works. Hope it will be fixed soon as it looks interesting.....
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2014
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,001
    Did it fail to finish updating, or would it not start updating at all?
     
  17. bcsman

    bcsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    102
    it never started any update I got the message that I need an active internet connection which is what I got a few weeks ago also....

    according to my Online Armor firewall it called out but eventually closed the connection as apparantly never received a reply...I have allowed and trusted all firewall requests for Avetix...
     
  18. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,001
    If you email Avetix from thier contact page, they should reply soon, and will be able to diagnose your issues remotely via TeamViewer if you want.
     
  19. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    I saw some youtube test video of Avetix and one by a reliable tester and in all it did not do well against malwares. Specially its zero-days or shields. So I was discouraged from giving a try on my pc.
     
  20. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    That's because it relies just on Bitdefender's signatures with no active virus control as FOXP2 reported above. Add to this that its definitions lay behind the Bitdefnder's ones and you realize why it performs poor in zero-days detection.
     
  21. bcsman

    bcsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    102
    I have done that and they have responded about the Teamviewer program...
     
  22. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Coupled with MBAM Premium it makes a great, light combo.
     
  23. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772

    Except for about 300meg of ram. lol
     
  24. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Dropped the install because it requires .NET 2.0
     
  25. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ram doesnt equal lightness lol.. unless youre running on a 512mb ram old desktop!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.