Avast won't run

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Judge Dee, Mar 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    I periodically scan Ubuntu Karmic with Avast for Linux.
    I just updated Avast. After the update, this appeared:
    "An error occurred in avast! engine: Invalid argument"
    I completely removed Avast, reinstalled it, and the same thing appeared. It just won't run.
    Any ideas? o_O
     
  2. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    Well, I did a "locate avast", got rid of remnants and reinstalled. It ran, but after updating I got this message:
    "avast! engine failed to reinitialize after database upgrade.
    The application will terminate now"
    Obviously (I think) an update issue.

    edit: This issue is on their forums. No reply yet.
     
  3. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Hi,

    Are you running Avast to scan for Windows Virus? In that case, there are other offerings from Avira, Bit Defender and others as well.
     
  4. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
  5. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    Yes, I scan for Windows' virus. I download a ton of PDFs. I'm going to look at the other offerings.
    Thanks, Ocky. I'm going to test that solution now.

    Regards,
     
  6. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    You can try out clam which comes with a gui and is in the repos and can be set to do auto scans.
     
  7. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
  8. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
  9. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yes it's free - but you need a licence key o_O Don't know if it needs renewing after 1 year.

    http://www.bitdefender.com/site/Products/ScannerLicense/

    http://www.bitdefender.com/world/business/antivirus-for-unices.html

    OPTIMIZED TO SUPPORT ALL MAJOR UNIX-BASED PLATFORMS

    BitDefender optimizes their security solutions specific to each platform, ensuring minimal system degradation and maximum operational performance. To ensure compatibility with all major UNIX-based platforms the BitDefender’s UNIX-based solutions are delivered as rpm, deb and generic .tar.run packages.

    SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
    Operating System: Linux, FreeBSD
    Linux Kernel: 2.4.x or 2.6.x (recommended)
    FreeBSD: 5.4 (or newer with compat5x)
    glibc: version 2.3.1 or newer, and libstdc++5 from gcc 3.2.2 or newer
    Processor: x86 compatible 300 MHz; i686 500MHz; amd64(x86_64)
    Minimum Memory: 128 MB
    Minimum Free Disk Space: 100MB
    Supported Distributions:

    RedHat Enterprise Linux 3 or newer
    SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 9 or newer
    Fedora Core 1 or newer
    Debian GNU/Linux 3.1 or newer
    Slackware 9.x or newer
    Mandrake/Mandriva 9.1 or newer
    FreeBSD 5.4 or newer
     
  10. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Thanks Ocky, according to the ubuntu site, you need to renew it every 30 days.
     
  11. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    If you get the licence ...
    So it's 1 year.
     
  12. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Thanks again for the clarification.
     
  13. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  14. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Just installed BitDefender, updated virus defs. and ran scan of /home. it's very fast and has a great GUI. One thing I don't understand, after entering the licence key I received by email it says free but remaining 52 days instead of 365 days. Oh well I'll wait and see what gives after 52 days.

    BTW. To get r/click nautilus context menu :-
    http://unices.bitdefender.com/2009/06/01/let-there-be-nautilus-extension-packages/

    Edit:

    It's fast...
    Used command line:-
    bdscan /home/userx --log=/home/userx/bdscan.log --verbose --exclude-ext=rnd

    Results:
    Folders: 0
    Files: 86007
    Packed: 3542
    Archives: 1481
    Infected files: 0
    Suspect files: 0
    Warnings: 0
    I/O errors: 0
    Files/second: 754
    Scan time: 00:01:54
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  15. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Now that clamav is flagged by Secunia https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1655438&postcount=1 all the more reason to replace it with the excellent BitDefender for those that want an AV. Updates are extremely fast and incremental.
    Note - there is not yet a deb package for the right click context menu entry if using (U)buntu 9.10.
     
  16. Comp01

    Comp01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    638
    What ocky suggested DOES make Avast work, just remove and reinstall after that (Remove COMPLETELY)
     
  17. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    More human readable perhaps ? .. http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=9087300&postcount=1

    Follow the instructions and then reboot should fix it.
    I must say BitDefender is way better. They have really given their linux versions some thought. :)
     
  18. Comp01

    Comp01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    638
    Yes, that forum post is more readable. lol But what you posted the first time was relatively easy to understand as well, I ran across that when I had the same problem and google'd it.
     
  19. Comp01

    Comp01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    638
    I think I might install bitdefender as well now that I just did a clean reinstall of Kubuntu.
     
  20. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.