Avast webshield not working under Iron Portable

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jdd58, Jan 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    USA
    I have Iron Portable installed on a non-system partition. I noticed Avast does not seem to filter Iron's http traffic while it does for IE or Firefox. Anyone have any ideas why? Thanks.
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Open the Avast4.ini file

    Search for Web Scanner

    add an entry which looks like OptinProcess=Iron.exe

    Cheers
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I was under the impression that Avast scanned ALL port 80 traffic regardless of browser, so that entry wouldn't be necessary anymore?
     
  4. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, that worked. :thumb: Man you really know what's under the hood of these programs.

    I noticed using CurrPorts prior to the fix Iron showed my local lan address. Now It shows it's using the proxy 127.0.0.1.
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    That's loopback.... the proxy port for Avast web shield is 12080 I think. But if it works now, then that's good.... :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.