avast! v7.0.1474 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hayc59, Oct 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    avast! v7.0.1474 Released
    10.31.2012

    What's New:
    • Win8 BSOD fixed (but still investigating some issues)
    • Crashes, freezes on WinXp 64b fixed
    • WebRep issues fixed
    • Sandbox stability improved

    Download: avast!
    Release History: avast! v.7.0.
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Did the update and looks good. :)
     
  3. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    Wow! another update.:D Thanks hayc59
     
  4. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Glad the Avast team quickly fixed the bugs. The forum was flooded with complaints.
     
  5. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Thanks Hayc59!:thumb:
     
  6. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! As you might know I was experiencing grief with the sandboxing...both in useage with firefox...google chrome and i.e.9...and during the uninstall process when it would freeze completely...no b.s.o.d.'s but cold reboot and system restore. Before I re-install I'd like some feedback if the sandboxing bugs have been rectified. As I've stated I enjoyed Avast in the past when Sandboxing was operable...and bug free. Sincerely...Securon
     
  7. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Securon, Hello Can you post your problem at avast forum?
    you may get quicker help there
    Version release
    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=108170.30
    Regular forum
    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2.0
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Hayc59...just re-installed the latest version...and am extremely pleased that Sandboxing is working as intended. Cross my fingers...and hope it remains in it's current state. Many thanks for your prompt reply...Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    S. anytime my brother!
    G.
     
  10. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Not good here,right click on utorrent and start sandboxed and i get bluescreen
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I am the last person in the world that I thought would do this but, still looking for what works well and detects for Windows 8. So far WSA has done the best.

    But this is working very well. Yep, never thought I would say it. Lets give it a couple of more days to make sure no BSODs. But Avast is very light on 8.
     
  12. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    Good they are fixing them, but problem is that there's still no stable version....dunno how many updates have been released for the BSOD issue and how many more in future...
     
  13. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Legendkiller, are you (or anyone you know) experiencing any blue screens with 7.0.1474?
     
  14. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    I wish i could use it because i like the option of the sandboxed web browser and that run great but will not install it again when applications cause blue screen .I though these issues were fixed so i only paid and installed for 1 day
     
  15. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I installed this on my Uncle's old Win XP dell desktop. I add BD Traffic stop light to a chrome browser. It's running a little high but nice and smooth.
     
  16. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    You should not run BD Traffic Light cause Avast has an HTTP scanner.
     
  17. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I'm aware. I wanted the extra browser protection from Traffic Light. It seems to be running fine at the moment.
     
  18. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Honestly Avast's web scanner is fine protection on its own and you could run into conflicts of overlapping. Same as running 2 antiviruses.
     
  19. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I guess your right. I'll probably get rid of TL and keep the Norton DNS for filtering.
     
  20. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    They need to actually bother telling you there is an update for the program in the program, without finding out while tweaking settings. Definitions get updated and spoke of just fine, program updates I usually find out about a week after the fact if then. I guess I'll just have to take the setting off "ask when available" and set it to auto-update, hoping it'll actually do it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.