avast! v5.1.864 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hayc59, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    avast! v5.1.864 Released
    12.31.2010

    What's new
    • Big improvements in the Behavior Shield
    • Improvements in the antirootkit engine
    • Improvements in the cleaning module
    • Stability/performance improvements in the Web Shield
    • CommunityIQ improvements
    • Added support for sound packs
    • Minor improvements in the user interface
    • Minor fixes in the firewall

    Download: avast!
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Is the new version distributed automatically or do existing users have to download it?
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    It's distributed automatically.
     
  4. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks for update :) I am downloading my copies...
     
  5. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    either way its up and going on their servers until
    they get hit harder ;)
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    A few changes I've noticed in 5.1.864 is in the Quick Scan and Full System Scan settings... previously there were pre-defined settings that could not be changed for Sensitivity and Packers. Now they can be configured.

    Also there is a new Popups Duration setting, as shown...

    (Edit: version # correction)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    o thx for pointing that out, thats good news to me having the ability to finally change popup duration and the ability to customize the scans as i had wanted
     
  8. iFront

    iFront Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Nice I manually updated mine as well.
     
  9. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Thanks for the update!!
     
  10. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Thanks for the update:)

    I am using Avast Internet Security(thanks for the free license) and I find that there is some traffic with mailshell.net. I think it is related to anti spam. Will the traffic stop if I remove anti spam component? or do I need to disable web and network shields too? I need to limit internet traffic as my bandwidth is restricted. Someone please reply.
     
  11. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    754
    Unfortunately, I still have increased CPU usage when running uTorrent wit AIS 5.1 (coming from ndis.sys). :/

    Does anyone have troubles with the FW not remembering rules created (either via popups or FW settings) for applications (possibly related to DOS pathnames)? I've set the FW to ask after a while (rules auto-created), and when running KMplayer the FW asks me repeatedly what to do even though "Internet out" or "All connections" is allowed for KMP.
     
  12. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    350
    are you scanning utorrent with your p2p protection?
     
  13. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    754
    Forgot to mention, didn't install the P2P shield so it's due to the FW.
     
  14. timeless52

    timeless52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Posts:
    14
    Just updated the freeware version.

    It puts a hurt on my XP x64 system!

    Slower boot
    Big lag to open quick launch menu
    CCleaner bogs down while scanning
    Firefox loads slowly

    Tried adding CCleaner and Firefox .exe's to Behavior Shield's "Trusted Processes" and experienced no improvement.

    Absolutely no slowdowns observed on my old XP x86 system.
     
  15. timeless52

    timeless52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Posts:
    14
    Seems like some x64 systems are having problems with driver updates.

    Uninstall followed by a reinstall solves the problem.
     
  16. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,101
    Location:
    Adelaide
    All fine so far on my system. Skipped the final few betas as one of them caused a BSOD.
     
  17. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    5.1.864 now running smoothly on two computers.
    Updating via internal updater went about as smooth as it can go...
    STEP 3/3 Updating WebShield looked at first like it was hanging, but patience is key. ;)
    Reboot required and then good to go.
    avast! did a nice job with this update, imo. :thumb:

    (Edit: version # correction)
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  18. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    The Land of OZ
    I've been told it better to uninstall the v5.0.677 first and reboot, than clean out any left overs files and windows register before you install the latest v5.1.864. I had problems when I manually update Avast through the update program section and my PC keep freezing up so much, so it better to get rid of the over version before you do a fresh clean install of Avast.

    My has been running very smooth as a baby bum :D so far :thumb:
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Another big change is in Behavior Shield configuration. Strangely enough, the default is currently set to 'Allow', and not 'Ask' or 'Block'. But before changing your setting, be aware that this is by design, that avast! is wishing to collect data via Community participation, with the plan being to roll out a fully operational Behavior Shield on v6.0, due out (I think) in February (?). There is also a heads up on the avast! forum that when users tweaked this setting in the beta trial, system freezes were resulting. I took away from this reading that the Behavior Shield is very much in passive mode at this time, and opted not to tweak the setting to the more sensible 'Ask" or 'Block'. I think I will at least monitor the BehaviorShield.txt file for what is going on there (lots of registry modification tracking).
    HTH :)
     

    Attached Files:

  20. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Actually, setting it to Ask should be fine for any user who's not insulted/frightened by a popup now and then... but it should definitely not be causing any hangs etc (there was a bug with similar symptoms in one of the beta builds but that should be all solved by now...).

    And the number of popups (false positives) isn't too big either - most of it is whitelisted / covered by some intelligence built into it (it's not a simple HIPS, it's a behavior analyzer).

    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  21. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Now set to 'Ask', per your suggestion. Thanks for clarifying that.

    Is v6.0 tentatively due in February, as I have read?

    Thanks, Ondřej!
     
  22. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    is ther a way to see "rules" created by the behaviour shield? like i had it on allow all this time and id like to be able to reset the rules its allowed during that time now that i put it into ask mode
     
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I would look at the BehaviorShield.txt file and see what has been allowed, then see if you can specify (or 'Allow') in 'Trusted processes'. Otherwise, resetting from 'Allowed' to 'Ask' should prompt you on all the things that were previously allowed... I'm thinking. :)
     
  24. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,101
    Location:
    Adelaide
    This file can be found at C:\ProgramData\Alwil Software\Avast5\report (for Win 7 and I assume Vista users).
     
  25. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Boy, they must be getting hit hard cuz my file will take nearly a hour. The changes look good though.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.