AVAST SafeZone Browser

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by taytong888, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. taytong888

    taytong888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    138
    Mod: Pls. put this thread in appropriate sub-forum, if suitable. Thanks.

    Today I was surprised to see Avast SafeZone Browser installed on my Win 7 PC. It appears the browser from Avast is for paid subscriptions and contains anti-keylogging technology for safe online transactions.
    I did install free version of Avast Antivirus.

    I am going to un-install it, partly because I don't need it and partly because it was automatically installed along with daily updates, without prior permission. Does anyone have any experience with it? Thanks!
     
  2. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    143
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Hmmm ... I'd be a bit concerned too if it did that. I'm guessing it's another Chrome clone right? ;)
     
  4. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The features are great , any way to use it without using the antivirus ?
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I've been looking at the Avast! forums and the brown stuff has really hit the air conditioning unit there! I did a minimal custom install when I originally downloaded Avast! Free. So it appears I haven't got SafeZone yet. I'm probably OK. I do believe it has been offered with the paid for version for some time though.
     
  6. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Oregon
    Surprise install happened here too, though I let it happen out of curiosity. Yes, Chrome based. When it loads, for a few of seconds, the home tab shows, 'chrome://startpage' before changing to 'Shortcuts'.
     
  7. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    350
    Hi everyone,

    It is my pleasure to inform you that SafeZone Browser is now available for all Avast users. It has been one of the key features of the premium (paid) versions of Avast for many years, and we've now made it available to our free users as well.
     
  8. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,186
    That is good news and a reason to update avast version if it is really true. I remember talking with my father in skype and he sharing his desktop to me. None seen about that safezone browser. :)
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    From what I've read, it's quite good in protecting against banking trojans. It always performs well in financial malware tests.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, I was a bit cocky before. I just took my computer out of sleep and I have a new browser icon .... :eek:

    safezone.jpg
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It seems very much like Opera to me.

    safezone2.jpg
     
  12. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Oregon
    Avast did it again. Installed the Safezone browser, without asking, with the latest update (2260), even though I uninstalled it from 2253.
     
  13. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    328
    Location:
    Canada
    go to 'Control Panel' - 'Programs and Features' - select Avast - select 'Change' - select 'Modify' - untick the features you don't want
     
  14. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Oregon
    That is what I did with 2253 to remove Safezone two weeks ago. Note: For two years I've using only the Web and File shields
    I did play with the browser again, and I suppose that is Avast's intent (or not). Using System Explorer, 21 processes are shown. 10 are fully active and 11 are small (200-300 kb). Seeing 21 Safezone icons was quite disturbing at first. (This on a Windows XP Pro SP3 box)
    Will be removing it again and curious what Avast does with the next update. Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  15. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Oregon
    Update from Avast:
    "I really aplogize for this. It's a bug and we will release a fix soon. SafeZone browser shouldn't be installed during update if you have disabled it in past.
    Please uninstall it again and during next update it won't be installed again.

    Sorry for the trouble." (MartinZ)

    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=185202.msg1305304#msg1305304
     
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It still seems very much like Opera to me.
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Seems that some sites don't really recognise it, or is that a stealth capability? ;)
    safe1.jpg

    And add-ons are detected ...

    safe2.jpg
     
  18. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    After uninstalling SafeZone I noticed that a scheduled task was left behind for updating SafeZone automatically. It points to a file that is no longer on the system after the uninstall it seems though. I disabled it anyway.
     
  19. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Hmm so avast is now waving 2 browsers in front of its users...:D
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It updates automatically? :eek:

    That's a relief. ;)
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Hmmm ... I think I may have solved the mystery of why Avast! have suddenly made this browser available as a freebie.

    safe3.jpg
    I don't recall seeing 'SAFEPRICE' being in the previous version. Luckily, it can be disabled.
     
  22. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,441
    It now comes with the free antivirus.

    You can install it separately.

    In some cases, the SafeZone browser installed itself without user intervention.

    I know, a browser should be free but people don't like nagware.
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm pretty sure it was beta tested with the free version as well. Avast! called the recipients 'selected users'. :argh:

    Are you sure? I uninstalled it experimentally the first time and then discovered that I couldn't reinstall it again. :confused:

    I think you'll find it was all cases. :eek:

    I wouldn't say it was nagware exactly, more like surpriseware. o_O
     
  24. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Not for me, why would I want a scheduled task running to try and update a component I already uninstalled.
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Good point. I'm guessing it stays behind if you want to reinstall. Maybe.
     
Loading...