Avast Safe Zone conflicts with Sandboxie

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by c0ltran3, Oct 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. c0ltran3

    c0ltran3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Posts:
    172
    I have a conflict between Sandboxie and Avast Safe Zone

    I usually use Windows 7 (64 bit) with

    Kaspersky PURE 2.0
    Sandboxie
    Appguard
    Comodo Firewall

    On demand
    F Secure 2013
    Emisoft Antimalware
    SuperantiSpyware
    Without any problem.
    Recently I installed Avast 7 (only Safe Zone) and immediately Sandboxie has stopped. On the contrary Avast Safe Zone works well.
    Can you help me to solve my problem?
     
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,727
    Location:
    localhost
  3. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Why on Earth would you need to use both. Of course they would conflict.
     
  4. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Speaking of SafeZone, does yours allow you to print while its on? Mine doesn't, and I'm told by Avast support it's a known bug which will be fixed in the next upgrade. Looking at the RC changelog, I don't see the fix.
     
  5. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    My interest is the future (or lack of future) for Sandbox products in the world of W8.

    As I understand it Sandboxie itself will not work to the maximum in 64 bit windows 8 setups.

    If Windows 8 comes with it's own sandbox functionality these standalone products sandboxies like Avast's or Sandboxie's may just not be needed.

    If anybody here KNOWS I would sure like to read about it.
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Not now but, like Tzuk says, hopefully it will in the future. Read the last sentence.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?Windows8

    Bo
     
  7. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Yes, I read that as well. The key word of concern is "hopefully".
    It would be good to know what has to happen to make it YES it will either work with W8 or W8 includes the function.

    We wait in W7 til it is clear.
     
  8. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Even if windows comes with its own sandbox, it will still be cracked by hackers and hence there will be space for third party sandboxing.
     
  9. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    and then the 3rd party sandboxies will be hacked..... and the circle is complete:)
     
  10. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Side notes:
    avast! SafeZone is a close environment that nothing gets in (like keyloggers, etc.).
    avast! Sandbox is a close environment that nothing gets out (like Sandboxie).
     
  11. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    3rd party sandboxes will not be as popular as windows sandbox and thus they will be less likely to be a target.
     
  12. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Maybe, maybe not.

    Forecasting is a dangerous game.


    Maybe we could have a 3rd party sandbox inside the windows sandbox.:cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.