Avast Question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ajcstr, Dec 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    Will Avast Home update itself without user intervention? Also, can scans be scheduled? If the answer to either of these questions is no are there any free products that do both? This will be installed on a teen's computer so I would like these tasks to just happen rather than rely on her to initiate.
     
  2. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    avast will update itself, but you cannot run a scheduled scan to my knowledge. There is a member named Rejzor who is the resident avast guru and he may know a way to schedule a scan with the avast home version. Check back he will be along soon, I am sure.
    IMHO, avast is a very good choice for your needs.
     
  3. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    If you use Avast's default configuration, then it should intercept most bugs. Running a scheduled scan will probably not reveal anything new. As for the kid, you should teach her about safe surfing and general PC maintenance. If she doesn't take care of her PC, then she risks loosing all data. It's part of growing up.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yes,the update module is fully automatic. However scheduled scans are only available in avast! Professional. In Home Edition you need to use Windows Task Scheduler and ashQuick.exe (avast! quick scan module).

    If you're interested,i can provide you with full info on how to schedule such scan.
     
  5. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    I am ;)
     
  6. mikel108

    mikel108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,057
    Location:
    SW Ontario, Canada
    Me too RejZor!
     
  7. smbruce

    smbruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Stockport, UK
    ... and me please!!!

    Steve
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'm still overclocking my machine. I'll be back very soon ;) And then i'll write the guide :)
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    avast! Home Edition Scheduling

    First,open Task Scheduler from Control Panel.
    Right click on empty space and select New Task.

    http://img90.exs.cx/img90/2189/aswschedule11zu.png

    Now just append the path which you want to scan at the end of text in Run: field. Make sure there is one space between ashQuick.exe file path and path that you want to scan!

    For example:

    RUN: "C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe" "C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe"

    You may also scan entire folders:
    RUN: "C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe" "C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\"

    I'm not 100% if it will work with Task Scheduler,but such commandline worked in my AEC tweak tool for avast!. Also tell me if it won't work,i'll re-think the stuff. Also you cannot turn of archive scanning for ashQuick and you cannot pre-define actions for virus found event (you'll get popup with options).
    For full control over scheduling i recommend Professional Edition since it gives you more freedom.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2004
  10. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    thanx pal :)
     
  11. smbruce

    smbruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Stockport, UK
    Thanks RejZoR.

    Merry Christmas.

    Steve
     
  12. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    Thank You !!!!
     
  13. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    OH, one more question, can Avast! Home be installed on more than one PC? If so, Do I use the same license key?
     
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ofcourse,as long as its for personal use only.
    If you have 4 machines at home,you can use same Home Edition key for all 4 machines. Just don't share the same key with your friends and so. They should register their own key. It's FREE anyway and takes just few seconds to obtain the Home Edition license key.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.