avast! Professional - what benefits in comparison to Home?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by raven211, May 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Hello! :)

    As many have probably seen, I think avast! is doing a great job, even if it could be a lot lighter. :p

    What I'm wondering is, what are the benefits of the pro-edition in comparison to Home? Does for example PUSH-updates really work, or is the software just checking more often? It seems kinda impossible really. :p And what about the Script Blocker? Does this provide a fair amount of additional protection?

    That stuff and much more I'm wondering about, like the usefulness of the Advanced interface. ;)


    Thx a lot for any help on this! :)
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well, the greatest advantages are far more settings and faster updates (same will apply to avast! 5 with special 10 minute updates for pro users, similar to Pulse Updates in Norton). Other than that they are pretty similar.
    Oh and free version can ONLY be used for personal non commercial usage while Pro version can be used for home and commercial purposes.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    hmm got anymore info about avast! 5?
     
  4. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Sounds great. :) Could you name a few examples of the useful options and maybe the Script Blocker? Are you running avast! Professional yourself?

    EDIT: Oh right... and will it also deliver better performance? Is there a beta version available?
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2009
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
  6. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Can't wait to try that out! Avast runs very well on my computer, but I'm keeping my current AV until version 5 comes out. Should be out for testing very soon?
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Thats what they said, but it's been silent since then. But they are working hard because only igor and yesterday Vlk lurked a bit around forums, otherwise they are not even near as active there as they used to be. But with good reason:D
     
  8. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
  9. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Okay, if I understand this correctly, Script Blocker will basically scan and block any malicious scripts too (in any web-browser?), running as another provider. RejZoR, could you please confirm this? :)

    Also... if I purchase the pro-version of v4.8, will that license work for v5 when it becomes available as well? :doubt:
     
  10. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    EU
    check the avast forum, you can find there info about the script blocker and the web-shield. in short, web-shield is a newer addition to avast than script blocker. according to the developers, the script blocker COULD find more threats than web-shield, but it's not a guarantee. they even considered dropping the script blocker in avast v5. finally, they decided to keep it also in version 5.
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yes, Web Shield is at the entry point so it's most likely it will already pick malware even before it hits Script Blocker which is positioned behind Web Shield.
    So it may or may not provide extra protection. It's hard to estimate that but if you have it ready there it can't really hurt. Pretty much all the currently actual redirectors and iframes are detected by Web Shield these days.

    If you purchase avast! 4.8 Professional, the license will apply to any upcoming releases for as long as the license is valid. And it will only apply to the same edition. So if you bought it for avast! 4.8 Professional, it will only apply to upcoming avast! 5.0 Professional, but not to avast! 5.0 Internet Security (if there will be one of course).
     
  12. progress

    progress Guest

    What does it mean exactly? I only noticed a rootkit check 7-8 minutes after boot, is this the Avast Anti-Rootkit Protection? No way to manual scan for rootkits like in Avira? :rolleyes:
     
  13. i_g

    i_g Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Posts:
    133
    You can create an antirootkit task in the Professional version.
     
  14. progress

    progress Guest

    I see, thank you :)
     
  15. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    If I would buy Avast Pro now, I wonder if they would offer an upgrade discount if they have Avast Internet Security?
     
  16. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    If you do decide to buy avast! 4.8 Pro, if no better offer available from the website, upgrading from within avast! Home (right-click tray icon > 'Upgrade to avast! Professional Edition') gets a 20% discount.
     
  17. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    avast needs to be completely redesigned and i think they will do that in version 5.
    the design that looks like media player, unorganized settings,and should also have a lower number of running services in the task manager.
     
  18. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    You know the skin can easily be turned off?
     
  19. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    an antivirus with skins lol :D
    imagine avast stands between other antiviruses and says" hey i'm the antivirus with skins" :D
     
  20. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    And whats wrong with the number of services? It has so many because of the modularity. ashServ.exe, ashDisp.exe and one updater which name i can't recall right now. All others appear only if you install the provider.
    Plus they all have similar names so when you list them in Task Manager, they are neatly packed together so you don't have to chase them around.
    Sure it could have just 1 or 2 processes, but i don't find current state to be bad at all. Have you ever tried F-Secure? I think they've cleaned it up a bit but it used to have dozen of processes with different naming schemes scattered all over the Task Manager list.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.