avast! Pro?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by xxJackxx, May 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

xxJackxx Registered Member

After reading another thread on web scanners and seeing avast! recommended as one of the fastest I thought I would try it out. I installed a trial of the Pro version and I must say I am very impressed with the lightness of it. It is like running nothing at all. Especially on my 64 bit machine. It looks like it rates pretty highly on detection lately, but since I have never used it before, I was wondering what kind of luck others have had with it. I intend to keep it through the trial period and maybe purchase it afterwards if no problems come up between now and then, but I have to wonder if something this light is effective. Is this a good quality product worthy of my money? And before anyone says it, no, I am not interested in the free version... Thanks.

2. Saraceno

Saraceno Registered Member

Jack, nothing wrong with Avast, it's a top program. The pro version, from memory, updates more frequently, has a script blocker, command-line scanner, and a different interface. Worth the cash? I think so. Heaps of Avast users on here.

The good news, is with version 5 approaching shortly which will have a list of new features, your license will carry over to the new version. Talk is a behaviour blocker and firewall may be offered, or just the standard AV. With version 5, there might be more differences between pro and free.

Before you buy, feel free to ask the Avast staff any questions at:

avast! 4.x Home/Pro (click second link down)
    http://forum.avast.com/

They are on there everyday.

3. xxJackxx

Thanks for the info. I've only been running it 2 days and I am leaning very heavily toward buying it. Even though I already have licenses for 3 other products. o_O

4. Coolio10

Coolio10 Registered Member