avast installation freezes?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Pablo87, Oct 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Hello folks

    i need youre help with a problem
    i have just renewd my license
    that went fine, but i had to install avast is from scratch
    so i downloaded the setup file and saved it ono my desktop, i start the installation, but when avast want to make a system repair piont, the installation freezes nothing happens, and i can not install avast.. i hope you understand me, and hope that you can help me

    Regards Marco
     
  2. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    So what your saying is Avast stops the installation at "Making System Restore Point"? Do you have System Restore turned on? Do you have enough free space? What is your current OS? Have you tried removing your current restore points? Can you manually make a System Restore point?
     
  3. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    201
    You might want to try the Avast! Cleanup Tool created by Rejzor and linked to in the first post of this thread on the Avast! forum.

    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=103461.0

    I have used this tool a handful of times. It is very simple and does a very effective job of cleaning all remnants of a prior Avast! installation. I really have no idea of whether or not this will help with your problem but it is worth a try.
     
  4. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    I have had a similar situation with AIS this week...5-6 attempts to install but freezes when I restart. Have used AIS several years but something is going on...figured it was just my pc but I can install and run about anything else. I will look into it further.....
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Lots of posts removed. If you have to "hint" at what you are getting at, then maybe, you need to not post until that is sure.
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Similar situation here, as I posted on the Avast forum. I upgraded via the Update tab on my Avast Pro, and the update was flawless. At the end the instruction is to reboot so I did. The bootup went good until after the Welcome screen and then the usual black screen appeared with the white pointer and after about 50 seconds, the little power light on the computer started to flutter and then faded away while the black screen remained. It became obvious the computer wasn't going to boot so I did a hard shut down. I reverted to an earlier snapshot on my Rollback Rx to the earlier version of Avast and it was good again. I tried the above twice more, but the new version will not boot. There are similar failures from some folks including freezes and errors so I guess I'll have to stay with ver. 7.0.1466 until they release a fix.
     
  7. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    We both have Win7, MBAM-Pro although I removed MBAM...no change.
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, MBAM not the cause. It's the upgrade itself. :p
     
  9. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    I uninstalled MBAM-Pro and problem gone. However I have never had a problem with AIS until this upgrade.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.