Avast Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Yash Khan, Apr 28, 2015.

  1. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I am running latest AIS.

    I use direct connection, wired router & wireless (only my wireless connection)
    I keep on checking grc.com & Avast always stealth all the ports.

    But only 1 prob & this prob happens only with Avast Firewall. I have never seen this prob with Comodo FW & Windows 7 FW.

    On my routers page, WAN IP mostly starts with 203.x.x.x & think 192.x.x.x & with Avast FW installed, grc.com shows all ports stealth. This is fine.

    But with Avast FW installed, I have noticed sometimes WAN IP shows 195.195.x.x & when this IP is shown, grc.com shows 2 ports stealth, rest closed & 80 & 443 open always. Avast Home Network scan also reports this prob when WAN IP shows this IP.

    Any info?
     
  2. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I was wrong. The prob is not due to Avast FW.

    I have seen 3 types of IP in WAN IP in router page.
    1. Starts with 203.x.x.x
    2. Starts with 192.x.x.x
    Ports are always stealthed with the above starting IP.

    3. 195.195.x.x

    Whenever WAN IP shows IP starting with 195.195.x.x then always 2 ports stealth, rest closed & 80 & 443 always open.
    I dont understand why this happens with IP starting with 195.195.x.x?
    Are IP starting with 195.195.x.x. normal for home users?
     
  3. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015
  4. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I am not an expert so dont know if I sound stupid.

    The links you mentioned shows UK.
    I am from India.
    So my routers page WAN IP showing IP starting from 195.195.x.x is normal & nothing dangerous?
     
  5. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    I gave you few guessed hits as an example.
    Did you enter your exact, complete, all numbers, IP to see where you get that IP from? Is it from you ISP?
    Do you have a router? Did you block unsolicited inbound connections in your router? If not, do so.
     
  6. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    If your router supports statefull inspection plus NAT, that should pretty much cover this.
     
  7. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I put the IP & it shows the same info as your link.

    I dont see unsolicited inbound option in router.
    FW is enabled in router.
    ICMP ping blocking is enabled in router.

    My router is Belkin G Wireless Model F5D7234-4 v3 (01)
     
  8. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    If you are behind a router, then you'll be fine.
     
  9. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    And when I am using direct connection i.e no router?
     
  10. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    Fully updated Windows and Windows Firewall should be enough. Unless you are doing something very very sensitive.
     
  11. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Not enough detail in this thread and I probably don't understand it.
    But I find it odd that a person in India gets an IP from a university in the UK. And when has that IP, the router or the PC have ports 80 and 443 wide open inviting remote connections.
    yesnoo did not tell us if he/she runs a server. I assume not.
     
  12. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    A couple of things.

    First, when you run one of these Internet based firewall tests, it is testing the firewall in your router. If you want to test your PC based firewall, you have to set your router to pass through mode or connect directly though your PC network card or wireless connection.

    Next, every router has WAN and LAN ports. What the Internet firewall test is inspecting is your WAN ports. It is not uncommon for many ISPs to issue routers with one or more WAN ports open for diagnostics and connectivity testing. On my router, it is port 443; of all ports. Doesn't matter since on the LAN side of the router all ports are closed and stealth.
     
  13. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    No server.

    What other details should I present?
     
Loading...