Avast Fantastic Support

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    In Sep 2012 I bought a license for Avast Pro from Downloadcrew. I have been using it on my laptop, but a few days ago I got curious as to how BullGuard would run on it.
    I removed Avast Pro and installed BG. In a couple of days I decided that BG was OK, but I prefer Avast Pro, partially for the Safe Zone browser.

    Accordingly, I removed BG, and installed Avast Pro. However, when I tried to activate it with the license I had the response was that the license had expired.

    I contacted Avast Support and within an hour received an email with a new license for the remaining time on the old license.

    That is the best and fastest response I have ever received from any company.
    GREAT AND THANKS AVAST SUPPORT.

    Jerry
     
  2. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi,

    Great to know everything seems good for you ;)
     
  3. er34

    er34 Guest

    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: Hope you showed them your appreciation , Jerry
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Yes, with email reply and on the Avast forum plus here.
    Jerry
     
  5. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    :thumb:

    That is definitely good to hear. Glad to know that they treated a paying customer right.

    Also, good for you for giving them some props and kudos here publicly. People are quick these days to criticize and complain when a business doesn't treat the customer right or is less than honorable....but rarely will people go out of their way to say nice things about a business for doing the right thing. So it's nice to see you giving them some recognition for doing the right thing in this instance. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks. I agree.
    Jerry
     
  7. mhl6493

    mhl6493 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Thanks for sharing, Jerry. Great customer support means a LOT. And it's often an overlooked fact in the antivirus/internet security discussion. Unfortunately, most of us have probably discovered that the hard way at least once...
     
  8. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Life is good!!!:thumb:
     
  9. javagreen

    javagreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    It's important to understand that I'm not trying to bash the OP here, but why are we so quick to heap praise on companies for such instances, when ideally this sorta issue shouldn't even have occurred?

    It all feels like Norton to me, their product/customer support is fantastic but no amount of quality support can compensate for an inherently ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ product.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 19, 2013
  10. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    I agree with the post above. This issue just should not occur. You must wait for your paid license to be activated again? I would understand your feeling of gratitude if there were some mistake on your part and they promptly fixed it.
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Stuff happens and in this case it was Avasts fault but they moved to solve it quickly. Hats off to them for doing so.
     
  12. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Note that my praise is for Avast Support.

    I agree that the license should not have been "expired," but I have known of similar things to happen with Norton and Kaspersky in the past with a real struggle to get satisfaction. My son had it happen with Norton, and just gave up. In this case it was within an hour. How many AV Support responses have you gotten within the hour? I would suspect none.

    From posts on forums it is difficult to ever get much help from the Kaspersky Support folks.

    So I continue to praise Avast Support for prompt and satisfactory assistance.:thumb:

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  13. mhl6493

    mhl6493 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Amen to that. In my experience, I found their forum completely useless.
     
  14. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    This is the main reason that I decided NOT to try Kaspersky. I've been hearing FOR YEARS how Kaspersky customer support simply isn't there, and from visiting their forums I can tell that providing help and answers isn't their strong suit. Then, add that being friendly and courteous is practically non-existent at their forum and I decided that no matter how good their antivirus software is, I simply didn't want to risk encountering a problem like what you did with Avast! because I doubt it would have been handled like Avast! handled it!
     
  15. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    Then how's support for Avast free? Only forum?
     
  16. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    USA Southwest
    Forum support for the Free. But the support there is good. I was a long time Avast user until the release of version 7 and have since ditched it, but can't take anything away from their forum support.
     
  17. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I cannot argue with your rationale, JR. From other forums many otherwise good AVs have such poor customer service that I also don't want to fool with them.

    I had that experience with Bit Defender probably 12 years or so ago, and decided not to try them again. I did load it yesterday, but did not see any reason to change from Avast.

    I have not had problems with KIS, but do not expect any support from the Tech Support folks if I do, and will just dump it.
    I think the forum support was better a few years ago, but now there is very little technical help there.

    Customer support is so very important in everything we buy or use, but some companies either do not realize it or don't care. It has kept me from buying some brands of cars in the past.


    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  18. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Jerry....when you say you loaded Bitdefender, did you install a trial version from the web? And how was the installation process? I watched a YouTube video that made it seem more difficult to download and install Bitdefender than I would think any antivirus needs to be....but perhaps they were simply using a different method or process than most. I'm also wondering whether downloading and installing from a CD would be a better option than directly from the web o_O

    EDIT: I just ran across this. Notice the "CON". Now I don't feel so inept :p

    http://bitdefender-antivirus.en.softonic.com/
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  19. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi JR,
    I did not find the download and install troublesome. I have MBAM Pro on the machine, and was a little surprised that BD did not want it removed. The last time I had used BD it had crashed and the BD support folks insisted I remove all other amti-malware applications, and even my firewall. I was using the BD AV, and was not going to operate without a firewall.

    I thought I might trial it as BullGuard had run well, but did not have the Safe Money module I wanted. However, I could not figure out how to use it in BD. I'm sure I could have received help to be able to use it, but had just wanted to see if it worked OK on my laptop. It did not cause problems, but I did not leave it on to really make a fair trial.

    Hope this helps,
    Jerry
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.