Avast "False Positive"

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AvinashR, Mar 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Hi All,

    Avast is flagging hxxp://www.filesonic.com as a Malicious website .. As far other AV's are concerned, none of them found anything WRONG on Filesonic website ... Also I have found strange behavior from Avast .. When the website was found malicious, I tried to make an exclusion but what I saw is something very STRANGE.. My Avast IS got locked with a password. A moment ago everything was fine, but after the flagging of filesonic, Avast got locked.. I never used any password to lock my Avast.. I don't know how it did happened ... This is something really strange ..

    Anyways, anybody can confirm if Avast is blocking filesonic at their side...
     
  2. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Blocked here...:oops:
     
  3. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Hmmm, I have asked some of my friends, who are working in different AV companies, and as per them, website seems OK. So it means, this is a FALSE positive from AVAST or AVAST Community ..

    BTW have you checked your AVAST too? Is it got locked?
     
  4. Dwarden

    Dwarden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Posts:
    176
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    it could be correctly flagged because some frame or ad is infected or the site itself ...

    this is very tricky to determine ...
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I can't see a single reason that locked AV could be related to a FP of the webpage...
     
  6. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Well, Seriously I don't know how it happened. A moment ago, everything was fine. But soon after this scenario my Avast got locked with password.. As I said earlier, I have never used password settings for my Avast.. Although, I have removed it and re-installed it, and now everything was fine ...

    PS:- Now I am using password protection.. :p
     
  7. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Well I agree with you.. But I have get this website verified with 5 different AV companies and as per them, they didn't found anything wrong..
     
  8. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    350
  9. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
  10. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Strange. Avast! IS didn't block FileSonic here.
    Maybe it's blocked because the both of you are from India?
     
  11. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Here's the screen-shot ..
     

    Attached Files:

  12. richo

    richo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    73
    Avast is blocking filesonic.in, not filesonic.com. Interpret that as you will.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.