avast! Configuration

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Plati, Jul 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Plati

    Plati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Poland
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I see no point in configuring avast!. Only thing that i do is to enable full screen apps detection for popups and disable ball spinning (which is nice but rather distracting, at least for me). And that's it. Everything else is already optimally configured.
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i just put everything on High and done.
     
  4. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I keep my configuration at default like the way it was installed that is enough I think
     
  5. progress

    progress Guest

    I noticed 7 shields:

    # Instant Messaging
    # P2P Shield
    # Internet Mail
    # Outlook/Exchange
    # Network Shield
    # Web Shield
    # Standard Shield

    I assume the Standard Shield is the resident guard, am I right? So it should be enough protection with this single shield? o_O
     
  6. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi ance

    You can only know if it was "enough protection" after discovering that it wasn't! :argh:

    All the shields are resident. Custom install only the ones you'll need if you wish but chances are you probably won't bother to "reinstall" that extra shield just for that one time you accept a file via MSN.
    IMO Standard, Web & Network are essential (unless we're talking Windows 95 with 32MB RAM).
     
  7. progress

    progress Guest

    If I accept a file via Skype and I open it - the Standard Shield should also check it? I assume the same goes for Internet Mail?

    P2P software and Outlook aren't installed ...

    My laptop is the only machine in the WLAN, do you think I need the Network Shield? I don't visit LAN parties ;)
     
  8. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    This is true. I just prefer to keep the stuff from getting on my machine in the first place!

    Re: Network Shield. Specific IDS worm protection is probably of some use on the web (depending on firewall choice) but again, are you going to have modified your avast! installation in advance of the day you unexpectedly do have a visitor on your LAN? (Of course, if your router/access point has a web-only WPA key you'd be pretty safe).
     
  9. progress

    progress Guest

    Thank you for your assistance Vladimyr, I will install the 3 shields you recommended :)
     
  10. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    avast pro very strong on virus and very lite on my pc

    before i was use kaspersky internet security 2 years
    then i was use avira premium 1 year
    and now i use avast pro its excellnt

    tomorow i dont know what i will use, but i will use the best antivirus wich lite on computer and strong on virus
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    LMAO u have the exact same AV history as me :D Kaspersky -> Avira -> Avast :D
     
  12. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I use the default configuration, it works fine "out of the box".
    Only changes are to increase the frequency of update checks, a nice skin, and the disabling of the shields I don't use (MS Outlook, and Instant messaging.)
    Setting the providers to high when that is not needed just slows access scanning down as all files are scanned rather than those with the default extension set. Default settings are an excellent compromise.
     
  13. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I'm trying this on my work PC, correct me if I'm wrong, but I left everything as is, except I disabled the script blocking spalsh screen cause it annoys me :cautious: and merged the 2 icons together. I notice there are different options, update automatically, but do I check my computer is permanently connected to the internet, as I have Cable extreme 30000Mbs connection o_O Also when it scans, it says standard scan, is this sufficient in most cases, and I think the protection is medium,as its between normal << and >> high settings


    Also $117.00 for 3 years here in Australia is quite competetive compared to other AV's :)

    Avira AntiVir Premium $74.02 3 years

    Kaspersky Anti Virus (only 2 years here) 1pc $63.95 3 pc's $127.95 :ninja:

    Norton AntiVirus 2010 1 year $ 59.95
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.