Avast! back on track?!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by avman1995, May 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    How is the test going,spywar,anything to comment on results? Did you manage get something through? If so then did you see any quick detection from avast of the sample in an hour or so like you said before?
     
  2. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    No everything missed by cloud based stuff / local def / is blocked by hardened mode.
    Actually as you said, I'll have to disable agressive mode and use it by default. I'll try to do that but have to find another machine :/
     
  3. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    I ran 9 fresh samples missed by Avast definitions on a real machine, 8 blocked by hardened mode, one undetected. Great :)

    Edit: I ran the same samples with default settings, nothing was detected. The hardened mode should be enabled by default.
     
  4. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Spywar,Have you had cloud reactions to the samples that avast missed earlier on like you had previously?
     
  5. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    The last days yes, but today samples still not cloud reaction on them. I'll try execution later.

    edit: tested a file that was undetected 1 hour ago, it got caught by FileRep(Metagen)
     
  6. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Well, the AV-Comparatives Real-World test for May didn't look good for avast!.
     
  7. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    If they use default settings then this is a bit expected..
    I agree with malware1 that hardened mode should be enabled by default..
     
  8. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I have it on a XP computer with Hardened Mode enabled on Aggressive and have not not had any problems yet.
     
  9. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Good to hear spywar! To add avast has been recovering backend probs till april-may so may be the reason of low scores at av-c.Quick reaction times,great to hear!

    besides its a complete web based test...so for a amazing av web filter and no signatures..its a cake walk!

    we will see how they perform ahead,i agree hardened mode is rock solid,i really feel they need to resolve their deepscreen technical issues quickly.As i said spywar,things are more reactive right now than proactive.And your tests are proving it!
     
  10. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    Yep, that's why I'm wondering why it's not activated by default. We'll see in the future if they change that though.
     
  11. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    I believe recent problems were caused by this( it was in February) :CVC Capital Partners has agreed to make a “major investment” in Avast Software, a Czech Republic-based developer of anti-virus software, at a $1 billion enterprise value. Some of the shares were purchased from Summit Partners, which invested $100 million into Avast for a 25% stake back in 2011. Summit will retain some ownership going forward.
    It was started earlier, because these deals doesn't happen in 1 month, more like 6-9 months before and this perfectly correlates with decrease in detection - when you think how to retain your job with new shareholder and if you suceed then think kow to make product shiny and reduce expenditures, and the new shareholder is financial one, which is interested basically "pump and dump", not to stay for long time.....
     
  12. nsm0220

    nsm0220 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    until they fix some issues with they zero day protection
     
  13. Dave0291

    Dave0291 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Posts:
    553
    Location:
    U.S
    Hey Avast, you really don't need Hardened Mode to be blocking legitimate browser updates. I'm using Firefox Aurora and I'm constantly having to add exclusions just to get the damn browser to update. Oh, btw Avast, when I add an exclusion, I kind of mean it so stop making me do it over and over again. Thanks.
     
  14. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    If you are using a file reputation based anti-executable component, you shouldn't be too surprised if it blocks nightly builds of browsers every once in a while.
     
  15. Dave0291

    Dave0291 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Posts:
    553
    Location:
    U.S
    Oh, it's gotten better than that. I just had it block plugin-container multiple times on a completely safe webpage. So I shut down the browser...and the ^&!#^%$ thing stopped the browser from opening at all. I'm quite fine with Hardened Mode being a little uptight, but come on. Avast doesn't have 5 year olds working for it, they know good and well that people use Beta software and other utilities. There's no sense in their program acting like that with well known software like a worldwide used browser, Beta version or not. How do they expect a user to react when they see their AV program do that and not understand nothing is wrong, it's just the AV being the rear end of a donkey? Every once in a while is life happening, always without fail means someone at Avast screwed up. I'm tempted to go back to Panda, but they drive me nuts because they never fix their false positives even after you report them.
     
  16. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    I wanted to share with others...All credits to spywar and thanks to his testing and submissions...

    http://zupimages.net/viewer.php?id=14/25/w1ja.jpg

    A new cloud component....FilerepSnxClass....the snx stuff is coming now.Rejzor you surely want to see this.
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    The Hardened mode on Aggressive doesn't block files that have low reputation but have a valid digital signature. For example, i've downloaded very latest AMD Catalyst driver in Release Candidate version and it wasn't blocked, because the installer is signed. Other brand new files without siganture, however got blocked like any low reputation file. So, in a way it work slike a lite HIPS and i'm liking it now.

    This mode kinda makes everything else redundant unless they will seriously enhance it, in which case i might go back to analyzing technologies over almost HIPS like blocking. We'll see.
     
  18. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    I cant Kaspersky blocked it
     
  19. The hardened mode on aggressive works excellent for people who do not install software much.
     
  20. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,780
    On XP, problem is that since version 9 (aka 2014) there is no longer a list of options for what to do with an unknown, to avast's reputation or whatever, file. With exclusions not working things can get rough to deal with.
     
  21. skp14

    skp14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    56
    One GREAT feature that Avast has is the Boot Scan. Recently had a PC that had lost its internet connection from Malwarebytes 2.0 deleting "malware files" and was acting crazy from some type of malware. I did a boot scan and Avast fixed the internet connection problem and got rid of the malware! It may only detect 96% in the tests but it knows how to fix what it detects.
     
  22. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Anybody see this thread. If you install the Software Updater you get a dll file signed by Open Candy. :eek: Glad I didn't install that option.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.