Avast 8 Released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by avman1995, Feb 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    RejZor, it's working now. I just downloaded it. Thanks for the effort.
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,055
    Over here in the uk i notice avast are asking for£80.49p a year for their internet security.
    This is way overboard to be honest and i cannot see any justification for asking such a price.The free av is great but i refuse to pay this amount of money for the suite and i would sooner pay for kaspersky or bitdefender,
    Why are these companies are becoming so greedy i dont know but this price is unjustified for even avast.
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I've designed the SuperSilent profile around a computer used by my sister (she's not into compuetrs at all), second one (PUP enabled) is used by me and the last 2 are designed for power users who want absolute control.

    Let me know what you think about them. I might adjust them a bit but i think i caught the right balance for each of them.
     
  4. coolbuy

    coolbuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Finally, i am back to avast from MSE. I must say the new version is really light.. in short its AWESOME. I like avast the way it is now :D
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    Awesome thanks very much. Where do the config files get placed? Also can the be used for Avast antivirus as well as AIS?

    Thanks.
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,809
    "- no taskbar icon spinning" Why not?
    ----
    "What to do if a virus, PUP, e.t.c. is found", I prefer:
    1st action=> move the file to the Virus Chest,
    2nd action => Delete Ask
    3rd action => None
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  7. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Trooper-
    Settings--> Maintenance ---> Settings Backup ---> Restore settings.
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    Thank you much sir.

    So do you guys think Avast Premier is worth it over AIS? Trying to balance out a budget here, so looking for a deal of course.

    Thanks!
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    During install of Avast free it asks you to upgrade your protection for 19.99. Not sure if it's AIS/Premier or Pro. I'd stick with AIS and just get Sumo or Securna.

    Edit: I think that's for AIS, since it says is normally 49.99, which is what AIS goes for.
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,809
    avast! Pro Antivirus 8
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2196774&postcount=51
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    That's not what I get when I installed. It definitely said AIS, normally 49.99. I'm in the US so it might be a different deal.
     
  12. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    There are still last moment bugs too be resolved and off course there can be no perfect Built when it comes to AV software stability. :rolleyes:


    Atleast,it isnt anything major but just minor ones which I am satisfied with :D
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    One thing I like with Premier is remote capability. This will be good for me for support of family pc's.

    Anyone know how I can get a nice discount on it?
     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Not that I've noticed. I'm sure there will be. Since it's brand new, they might have some specials to promote it.
     
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,809
    :thumb:

    avast! Pro Antivirus 8 = 39.99 19.99
     
  16. Kingy

    Kingy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    @RejZor Got the link working, had to open in IE for some reason. Thanks, very handy set of profiles to have.
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I don't like the icon spinning because its just distracting me. So if profile is made to annoy the user as little as possible, this makes sense imo.

    As for the actions, what difference does it make? From my experience, if avast! fails to process it, asking you won't make much difference (you'll pick another action but will give you the same error in most cases). "No action" equals to "Deny access", meaning the file will remain where it is but will not be able to do any harm.

    Actions do change between shields so not all have the same settings.
     
  18. constantine76

    constantine76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    191
    Your SkyDrive shows empty though I have downloaded it. Thanks will try it out. Anyone of you guys having issues with videos in Firefox 19..?

    xttp://postimage.org/image/84opi55mz/
     
  19. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    the installer won't read a license file stored on a network share - previous installer would. other than that, haven't run into any issues.

    *Edit* - i really like the centralized exclusions option. it's a lot less kludgy than having to manually exclude applications from certain shields. also really like the option to suppress tooltips w/webrep.
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,809
    Asking me (instead of "delete") means to me that at least I Know what is going on.
     
  21. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,955
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    Curious if anyone knows how to fix the network connection icon in Windows 7 showing there is no internet, when there is.

    Had this problem in version 7, unfortunately it has not been fixed in 8 either. Tried the workaround that was posted here a long while back, but it does not work.

    Thanks guys.
     
  23. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Move to Chest -> Delete -> No action

    This is a default avast! setting...
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,809
  25. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,055
    Just out of interest ,what firewalls are you guys running alongside avast.?
    Im running the native windows firewall with avast 8.:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.