Avast 6 beta available!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by yaslaw, Jan 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Nah, not really interested in joining yet another forum for something that shouldn't be a problem in the first place.
     
  2. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    :thumb:
     
  3. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    370

    ye good Question i hope someone can answer on that,
     
  4. Gauchoo

    Gauchoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm not 100% sure but I don't think it is active yet.

    Maybe with future beta build's it will be active or it will be active only once the official version 6 is released.

    Looking on the avast forum there has be no mention of the 'cloud' feature that I could see to suggest it is active with this beta.
     
  5. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    then pm rejZor he is an evangelist there he may be able to help...they have solved almost all major problems in 5.1 :)

    and ppl its beta version...out of 130+ million users a thousand persons must be testing beta so there maybe unsolved problems since every pc is unique and most ppl dnt realize its not entirely avast's fault for not functioning properly..there may be conflict with other software or remnants of old av...the avast team is busy solving all the problems and adding new features adn making it better and better
    i have always heard praises about vipre support but since i have not experienced that ic an safely tell avast team/forum have great support
    kudos to avast and vlk :thumb:
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well that seems kinda pointless, ur willing to complain about something that not working, yet u have no intent on doing something to have it solved? thats really accomplishing nothing.

    and in a perfect world we would all love to have every single function of every program to work flawlessly and with no possibility of bugs, but thats not the case and bugs will be found.
     
  7. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    I simply stated it wouldn't work for me and why. I'm sorry, but an AV software in conjunction with Windows Firewall, kills the Internet connection. Happens with the current version of Avast as well, not just the beta version.

    If someone who already has access over there wants to post a question about it, great, but I'm not going to join another forum to post something about this because I'm not using it.

    Seems to me that something this major would have come up before. I can't find anything on it, yet another person has stated it happens to them as well.

    Edit: Looks like I may have created an account earlier, so I'm logging in to post about it. We'll see what they say.
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    im guessing its not too common of a bug if there arent many posts about it on the avast forums so ye, one of the avast people will hopefully respond soon to ur post.
     
  9. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, we will see. 19 views...no responses so far. Be interesting to find out what someone says though.
     
  10. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
  11. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Still no response to my post over there...
     
  12. Watasha

    Watasha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    United States
    Man, the reviews on this I've seen have been awful so far, beta or not it should be better than this.:thumbd:
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Seems that the features are still not implemented correctly :)
    Give them time, they're giving lots for free so :D
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    actually, thers really nothing saying how good a beta is supposed to be since a beta is meant to be unfinished and requiring testing to find those problems. there is absolutely no reason to expect it to work well.
     
  15. doc77

    doc77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    your sig says comodo, which should automatically Windows firewall, so are you running Windows firewall or Comodo? Could be a conflict, even with comodo uninstalled, triggering something.

    check windows services below, make sure they are set to either automatic or manual.

    network connections (manual)
    network list service (manual)
    network location awareness (auto)
    network store interface service (auto)
    windows firewall (auto)

    Go through windows firewall settings and make sure everything in there looks right also.

    On another note, this thread illustrates why I won't use beta security software. I watched the languy review and he relied 100% on the auto sandbox to catch brand new malware, not realistic unless your using HIPS or LUA/SRP or adding everything sandboxed manually (browser, the malicious .exe's, everything).

    The whole principle of an "auto sandbox" is a cool one but seems hard to pull off. As long as it keeps lightweight and good detection and user friendly it will serve its purpose in my book.
     
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    guys remember this is A BETA this is exactly what a beta is for to solve issues and problems BEFORE the final release. there are a few things i do not like myself but i know this is a beta. and its no where near close to being released final yet. please know this is in reference to no one specific but know if you download a beta and have issues things need to be reported back and people also should not complain things are not PERFECT they will never be in beta's and this is the first beta with many more to come. if you are going to beta test do so with a open mind and always report things that do not work so they can be fixed. at least this is my opinion and nothing more.

    mostly its working well for me yes it has issues. i EXPECTED it to.
     
  17. PC_Pete

    PC_Pete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Might help to separate these issues. :doubt:

    (1) Some components of Avast 5.1 are not yet fully implemented and Avast 6.0 beta is not working properly. Has Avast development become more 'bleeding edge' than it once was? I'm not an everyday Avast user but from what I've seen they are not in the habit of not fixing things that don't work.

    (2) One day Languy99 is asked by Comodo to do a video about CIS or CCE.
    The next day he is posting "reviews" of other products.
    Even if he was the most objective and even-handed person who ever lived, his "reviews" will never be accepted as fair by anyone with the ability to form an opinion of his/her own. And posting videos showing the failure of beta products doesn't help to reduce any presumtion of bias.
     
  18. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, that is my full time setup, but I was obviously testing Avast, so Comodo was uninstalled and all remnants removed as well.

    All the services are setup properly and running as expected. Avast has a conflict for whatever reason on my system and another user who posted here with Windows Firewall. Both on, no Internet.

    Too bad no one at Avast has responded over there. Oh well...guess I won't bother using or setting up Avast for my clients.
     
  19. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    I'd post there if I had anything helpful to say but I've not seen the problem with 5.1.889 on either of 2 W7 64-bit installations (one AIS and the other avast! Free).
     
  20. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, it's too bad...not sure what the issue is, but it's very strange that it only happens in a couple of cases here.
     
  21. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,383
    Location:
    Hawaii
    IMO, upon discovering a deficiency of some sort, a beta tester should seek to carefully isolate & describe that deficiency so as to help the programmers to fix it. Instead, some in this thread seem to view a beta's deficiencies as an opportunity to lambaste the competency, foresight, and *ethics* of the organization that came to them for help.

    IMO, Avast would be better off if they limited beta testers to those who are dedicated to objectively identifying bugs & other areas for improvement, as opposed to those folks who treat betas as toys to play with, & expect them to work like final versions.
     
  22. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Any improvement in heuristics? Which is Avast's relatively weak area?

    Lot of features moved from Paid to Free. That is nice.

    But any additional improvement in resources usage reduction?
     
  23. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London

    Best quote of the thread by far :thumb:
     
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    No it's not. Sometimes even someone completelly clueless can found something that many dedicated beta testers missed.
     
  25. Dwarden

    Dwarden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    and what makes You think the early alphas and betas of Avast didn't went this route ? :D :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.