Avast 6 beta available!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by yaslaw, Jan 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Poland
    It's combination of avast lab information and user rating. So it's not only users dependent.
     
  2. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,613
    Location:
    Outer space
    WebRep is only the ratings, the network shield has an URL scanner which blocks malicious URL's.
     
  3. carat

    carat Guest

    Will there be a stand-alone WebRep? :doubt:
     
  4. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,529
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    This build looks like it's going to be nice.
     
  5. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Sidebar Suprise
    What I guess is very cool is the drag and drop a file or folder
    into the avast logo[suprise] :cool:
     
  6. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Has anyone tested this against malware? I tried it last night and again this morning. I know it's beta, but it didn't do any better than v5. The sandbox never came into play.
     
  7. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    id be interested in seeing the sandbox work also.
     
  8. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Do you have it set to ask? Perhaps the sandbox just did it's thing in the background without you knowing? I just installed this and noticed that it is set to Ask by default. Someone earlier said it wasn't, but it appears to be. I might try a test of this tonight or tomorrow to see what it does against malware.

    I noticed one issue so far. Says that Firefox is not installed. Um, yeah it is...it is my default browser and has been for quite some time.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Dwarden

    Dwarden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    actually i think the free version needs AntiSpam Lite to become step closer to excelent :cool:

    btw. about these commenting why Free has so much compared to Pro

    remember that Pro is for Non-Home users (commercial use)
     
  10. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm also having another issue since installing Avast Free Beta. I had this same issue with version 5.

    Windows Firewall will not stay on. Every time I boot my computer Windows Firewall is off. If I enable it, I lose my Internet connection.

    Anyone else have any issues with WF and Avast? Right now, after rebooting, the Windows Action Center notification came up again and says that WF is off. If I enable it, I will lose my Internet connection.

    I don't have this issue with any other virus software I install. Only Avast.
     
  11. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772

    Good point.
     
  12. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Yes, it is set on ask. Also, I checked the file shield log, and there is no mention of anything being sandboxed.
     
  13. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    More details as well. If I disable Avast shields after turning Windows Firewall on, I get Internet connectivity back. This for sure is some sort of issue between WF and Avast. No one else has this issue? I'm going to have to uninstall this if I can't resolve it. There is no reason why I can't have WF on while running Avast.

    Edit: Oh well, I give up. Uninstalled...

    My Internet works just fine with CIS.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  14. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I've got internet security installed on 2 win7 32-bit pc's. Did a custom install without avast firewall. No issues with windows firewall here.
     
  15. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    I have the same issue as well with WF and Avast Free. When I have a third party firewall installed I have internet access. System is Win7 x86.
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Will it finally use something other than the worthless Adobe Flash for IE on the Statistics chart?

    Also will Script Shield support browsers other than Internet Explorer?
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  17. Gauchoo

    Gauchoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Scotland
    Is their new cloud feature active with the beta ?
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    Maybe the heuristics are not good enough, yet.

    Avast is the AV most used in the world if you are a malware writer make your malware invisible to Avast is a priority.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2011
  19. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, 64 bit here. Oh well...if anyone knows why or can find a link to a solution, I will give it a try again but for now, with that issue, it just doesn't work for me.
     
  20. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    First test didn't go so well......... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuBr1rfFJ-8&feature=feedu Why isn't the behavioral setting turned on to "ask" by default? It seems wrong to have it set to "allow", and what the heck happened to the sandbox during this test??

    sorry, seems I don't know how to simply insert a link on this forum?
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  21. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,255
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.

    Not liking how the sandbox is based on heuristics alone.
     
  22. dan323

    dan323 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Posts:
    55
  23. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011
  24. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Post ur problem on avast forum...or u have already done dat ?
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's based on several factors, not just heuristics. And Auto Sansboxing is not working correctly just yet. Since this is the first beta i don't see any problem here...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.