Avast! 5 beta 1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Az7, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    vlk,
    Yeah it was 5.0.104.

    IceCube1010,
    I use Windows FW, Windows Defender and Zemana Antilogger. I don't think they may cause a conflict, but before installing avast! 5.0.104 I had already tested McAfee 2010 beta, AVG 9 beta and BitDefender 2010 haha. Although I had some uninstallation issues also with AVG and McAfee, I thought I cleaned the remnants well. OK, I'll admit that they might cause the CPU and slow down problem or Windows 7 might be the relevant issue. It'll be better if another Windows 7 user can state his/her experience (I don't wanna install it again).

    However, I saw some other people on some Turkish forums who are experiencing the same mail shield and web shield trouble (dunno what OS they use).
     
  2. progress

    progress Guest

  3. fried_oyz

    fried_oyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    22
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  5. Follower

    Follower Guest

    One of few products I am looking forward to. :thumb:
     
  6. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
  7. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    Plus those, the same unistallation problem. :gack: OK, I should get calm now and use Revo Uninstaller to do some manual cleaning. o_O Something really has to be wrong between Windows 7 RC and avast! 5 beta. lol
     
  8. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,710
    Does the updater work with this version?
     
  9. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    Yes. And the database is complete. Have a look at the link in fried_oyz's post.
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    everything seems to work except for the webshield for me, and the behavior shield but thats a known limitation atm.
     
  11. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    How about the Mail Shield? Does it work with Outlook Express now?
     
  12. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Can't believe my eyes...Wow...Wow...Wow...did I say Wow! So far so good all Shields Operational, no lag, for a Beta this is Tre Impressive ! When the suite is introduced...I'll be first in line too purchase. Alwil will now be named Wow..wil. Sincerely...Securon
     
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    I agree, I really enjoy the new GUI ;)

    How long will this beta version work? :rolleyes:
     
  14. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    Can we get some screenshots of the new GUI?
    Thanks
     
  15. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    564
  16. progress

    progress Guest

    Avast 5 has killed a Mamutu file on my machine :thumbd:
     
  17. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    564
    Remember, it's BETA.
    Please report it on Avast's forum :)
     
  18. progress

    progress Guest

    I have no account on avast's forum but I sent the files from quarantine a few hours ago :) Everything was ok with Avast 4.8 but Avast 5 seems to contain a modified engine? :rolleyes:
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,201
    Location:
    USA
  20. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,710
    The new GUI is very nice. I like the color scheme, and it isn't so gimmicky now. It also seems a little lighter than version 4. I really like where this AV is headed.

    One thing I hope they can improve is scan times. It seems to chug on media files. To scan my 100gig hard drive took about 2 hours.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  21. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    I suppose you meant 100 gig (not meg);)
     
  22. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,710
    HA HA Yes, I meant 100 gig. Sorry about that.
     
  23. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    really? im not sure bout media files, but a quick scan goes faster than v4.8 for me.
     
  24. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,710
    Maybe its not media files. I have always found Avast, even version 4, to be very slow at scanning. It's great software and I have recommended it, but I would say that is something maybe they can improve on.
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Slow? Maybe if yu set it to thorough mode with Archives. But set on Standard without archives, it was always fast.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.