avast! 2017

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    130
    avast paid has one big serious problem..They have terrible tech support...IS 2017 wouldn't even start scanning..The wanted 200 bucks to clean computer because they claimed i had traces of Mcafee left and my Idea of doing a total system reset wouldn't help.........He must of thought I was an idiot....
    they finally said they would clean my computer for 45 bucks

    I told him to pound sand because I Did a reset and it fixed everything but their dishonesty...

    Avanquest does their support along with others anti virus software
    Never again..I uninstalled

    Tom
     
  2. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Good to know, CyberCapture is still a beta feature since it causes many false positives. :(
     
  3. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,443
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Has anyone tested the new Avast Ransomware Shield.. pcmag.com did a review of avast 2017 and the new shield and said it worked good.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2017
  4. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    I want to see some screenshots from ransomware shield, could you please do it dragon ... :thumb:
     
  5. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    695
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    How's the nag nowadays? I would like to install the minimal protection but hate the thought of a nag a day. What frequency are people seeing?
     
  6. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,443
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I don't have Avast installed, i just read bout it.
     
  7. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I've had Avast Free installed for about a week now. Seen one pop up about how many viruses they stopped in Canada. So far, not much nag wise. Way better than AVG's constant nags.
     
  8. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    695
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    That's not bad. I'm OK with the odd information pop-up; it's the nags to go pro that put me off.
     
  9. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,443
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  10. Phoenix

    Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    Just bought a 3 year / 3 PC license for Avast Antivirus Pro after seeing how well it did on the latest AC-comparatives file detection and performance results.
     
  11. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    306
    Location:
    USA
    I installed avast free a few days ago for similar reasons, also liked website info, but then found that my audio was disabled, I uninstalled avast and audio is aok again. curious...
     
  12. Phoenix

    Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    Strange..... I would report the issue on their forums or to their tech support rather than simply uninstalling it. Don't have any issues with anything here. Make sure when you install it, to go to settings > Privacy > and uncheck data sharing
     
  13. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    306
    Location:
    USA
    When I uninstalled, I got a webpage that asked me why and I told them. I can always reinstall it. I tend to be private but when I installed it the first time, I let data sharing enacted. Is that problematic with avast...?
     
  14. Phoenix

    Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    not really, but I had to mention it as its enabled by default even in the paid versions. I keep the "Participate in the Avast Community" On but uncheck the "Participate in Data Sharing" Option. No one needs to know what I do on my computer (not that I do anything bad buy privacy is number one for me)
     
  15. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  16. Phoenix

    Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    My Avast! Antivirus Pro just updated to v17.5.2303
     
  17. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,396
    Location:
    North Of Thee Border..Gringo!
    Avast Antivirus v17.5.2303
    Released 18 July 2017

    Whats New
    • This version contains mainly fixes under the hood for SMB customers

    Download: avast!2017
    Release History: avast!
     
  18. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  19. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,997
  22. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    india
    I am okay with it being in the UI and not popping up to tell me this.
     
  23. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Point was, I've seen maybe 3 pop ups since I installed it sometime ago. Not much at all compared to other free AV's. Avast is one of the better ones for pop ups IMO.
     
  24. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  25. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,848
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I see, that Avast was updated, this message was not there about 2 weeks ago. I wonder, what it needs BFE for, it does not even have a firewall?
    Well, scratching it from my recommendations, it caused too many problems anyway. I am going to give AVG another try too see, if it has got any better.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...