avast! 2017

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,821
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,108
    I just tried the current beta. When I was running Avast a month or so ago on my main laptop, it was very slow at quarantining files and caused slowdowns when doing so. It was perhaps just an issue with that one computer, but I uninstalled it rather than investigating further. I installed the beta on a clean install of Windows 10 and I didn't have the same issues, which is good, but perhaps if I had installed in on my main laptop I would have been different.

    I ran some context menu scans, which alerted me that it had detected a threat (although there were actually multiple items detected), but there appeared to be no way to see what was detected, or take any further action. It turns out there is a Show results button on the alert window, but due to the colour of the text it's really hard to see.

    Avast.PNG
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    roger they are working on the whole ui and the small things like this will be fixed. i will make note of this and add it to the list for them to check out. i assure you the things like this will end up fixed.
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,108
    Thanks.
     
  5. Alikhan

    Alikhan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    What a co-incidence. I actually reported this issue today and it has been fixed for next release.
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    lol, good to hear!
     
  7. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    223
    on a 30 day trial on windows 7 fresh install and im impressed, very slick and no slow down, intel core duo with 2 gig ram (acer 5720).
    If all goes well i will purchase and install on the rest of the family, love the secure browser
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,007
    Avast 17.1.2286
    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=196445.0
     
  9. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,522
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Free version doesn't require email registration anymore

    woooohoooooooooooo
     
  10. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,943
    is this the beta or the normal version you are talking here ?
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,007
    ^
     
  12. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Germany
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
  14. Most AV's apply several layers to catch malware in consequtive stages of the intrusion, e.g. Avast Free
    - Webshield or Mailshield and or Fileshield traditional blacklist filter
    - Reputation service (has it been seen before in Avast community)
    - Cyber Capture (Code emulation & Machine learning)
    - Hardened mode (white list)
    - Behavioral Blocker

    So most AV's are applying a layered or funnel approach themselves, but ....you are right ....

    It is always good to have a backup/recovery plan at hand
     
  15. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    5,484
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    IS ver. 12 did quite well in the last MRG 360 test. It initially blocked 96.2% with a 100% detection rate within 24 hours.
     
  16. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,821
    My only issue with this new version:
    The UI feels a bit sluggish, when opening avast! (Loading, Animations, etc.).

    As for everything else, it's running great :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2017
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    depends on the system for me. my laptop it opens it around 2 seconds or so but on another system it around 5-6 seconds. but thats the longest i see
     
  18. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,821
    I see a lot of people, especially around the malwaretips forums, complaining about the same UI issues.

    But, I do see what you're saying, every system is different.
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,007
    +1

    UI is less responsive than previous one.
    They are aware of...... so I expect some updates for it in the near future.
     
  20. Alikhan

    Alikhan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    There will certainly be more improvements to the UI and its speed in the upcoming updates. The statistics will also be coming back in a future release.
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    alikahn is correct they know about the sluggishness and are going to be working on that. its been thoroughly discussed trust me lol.
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,007
    Avast 2017 introduces zero-day protection, ‘passive’ mode for running alongside other security apps
    http://www.softwarecrew.com/2017/02...de-for-running-alongside-other-security-apps/

     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2017
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,864
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    If I give avast a try is there anything I should watch out for? Any tips for the best experience?

    I've used avast years ago so am well aware to do a custom install and only installing the components I want. I've downloaded the off-line installer for the latest version. I've "Macriumed' my machine already so I can restore if I have a bad experience.

    Any and all advice appreciated.

    TIA,
    Krusty
     
  24. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i think you would be fine. nothing really that sticks out that i would say 100% to watch for. to start with i would use default settings then if you want to go further with them i can make some recc's or you can look up razjor's settings for avast.
     
  25. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    india
    Avast! Behaviour shield seems to be working correctly...Tested it against some ransom malware looks good so far.One of tester disabled avast shields and only kept behaviour shield on.

    Avast file shield and web shield are required for IDP to work since they are all associated with blocking URL's and catching malware payloads if the dropper isn't blocked.

    Even after all that it blocked the new .cancer extension adding ransomware.

    IDP is blocking the files that access malware URL.Finally!!! That is what I wanted to see.
     
Loading...