AV companies, the frustration never ceases.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DoctorPC, Jun 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,304
    Any problems with ESET?
     
  2. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    That is why I said go for Internet Security and not Total Security. IS is much more stable compare to TS. Geez. I wonder what do you use? I am sure 99% of things are made in China. From Apple to motherboards, mouse, keyboard... You get the point.

    1. How about uninstalling Total Security and this time install the correct one; i.e. Internet Security
    2. If you still don't want to use a China product, then go for ESET. I am sure you will be happy with it.
    3. If ESET cannot satisfy you, then I suggest to learn to go AV less. :D

    PS
    1. I don't see what is wrong in using a China product especially after the Snowden case, I think US is not much better than China
    2. I read that some where, there is this person who have been using it for almost 6months and never have his/her credit card charge to China
    3. I have been using this (Internet Security) for 51 days and neither did I get a charge from CHina
     
  3. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    AV-Comparatives and AV-Test should include forum vulnerability testing and history to go along with their malware and performance testing.

    ESET continues to run perfect for me even though their forum was hacked. I don't know how this is possible. Emsisoft also runs great (for me) but they need their forum hacked so they can join the other great anti-malware developers that have been hacked.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
  4. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    I keep China out of the basics.

    Security, Food, Safety Products. Otherwise they are fine. For example I wouldn't use a Chinese software product to run access control, alarm systems, or IP cameras. But I would use Chinese Cameras themselves. I wouldn't purchase a prepackaged Lasagna from China, but I would use a spatula made in China to scoop it out. Does that make sense? Also, they seemed to direct me to Total Security at every turn, so that's where I went.
     
  5. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Total Security is, for the most part, replacing Internet Security.
     
  6. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    But I am still sticking to Internet Security until it is really terminated and I got good reviews about Total Security. Right now the reivew favors Interent Security and Total Security being buggy
     
  7. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Makes sense. I wouldn't touch a Chinese Lasagna too.

    Here you go.

    http://int.down.360safe.com/360is/360is_4.9.0.4900P.exe


    A direct link to the installer of the Internet Security.[/QUOTE]
     
  8. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    I will get this on a laptop ASAP, and let you know how it goes over the next few days.

    PS: I saw a video of a food processor in China grinding up cardboard boxes to 'cut' their Hamburger with. They said there was no way to tell after it was soaked, dyed, and then mixed with the normal hamburger. Even my cat gets American Sourced food. Hehe.
     
  9. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    307
    Dark Knight? I would think that a Linksys WRT1900AC would have been your choice....
     
  10. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Yes, they qihoo is going to place more emphasis on the development on total security, so it will move faster than internet security.
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    which is why i no longer use or recc it to any clients. it caused some really weird things to happen
     
  12. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    I will never use Cisco/Linksys products ever again. Period. Asus Dark Knight is one of the best products of it's kind, and the QOS in it is remarkably good. My uptime on it currently is running at 4.5 months.. That's 4.5 months without a reboot, shutdown, or crash.. It's quite an awesome router, and I have it patched with a custom firmware which makes it more secure, and better.

    Anyway, Qihoo 360 as Zfactor mentioned, seemed to cause 'strangeness' I don't want to make claims I cannot substantiate, but some of my secondary seemed to indicate something fishy was going on with it.. But then understand anything in China, or Russia has spying built in as it is mandated by their governments, and security services. I spoke with a developer on one of the popular Chinese web browsers, and he told me they have backdoors, and snoopers in it because the Chinese security forces wouldn't authorize the product without it.. So I am generally pretty cautious, but when my auditing programs fire off some specific warnings, and other 'oddness' takes place, it came off pretty fast.
     
  13. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I couldn't agree that this is the last time I will be buying Cisco/Linksys modem router anymore. Youtube wont load, PLus lots of other sites. Frequent DC. Previously was using a Belkin modem router and it was good until it got fried by lighting.

    So did your auditing programs fire off some specific warnings upon installation of 360? I think the Chinese version might have some backdoor cause the CHinese version is supposely for China only. If the international version have backdoors, imagine what scandal Qihoo will be in. Moreover, they have their stocks listed in NYSE. I am sure they wouldn't want to jeopardise their entry into the international scene by putting backdoor into their program.
     
  14. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    What kind of weird things?
     
  15. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    There are good alternatives to AVs, so I don't really see the point in arguing. Appguard, Sandboxie, Shadowdefender, Linux, any VM, LUA, etc etc. The list goes on.
     
  16. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    I had a similar experience with Linksys...
    Now, I'm using Netgear.
     
  17. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    None. That's why ESET is deployed on all of my systems. Only F-Secure and Eset have made the cut over the years. Sticking with Eset for the next 2 years. Done deal.
     
  18. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,431
    Location:
    UK
    Off topic posts removed.

    Let's keep on topic here please
     
  19. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,225
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It's always been AVG here and I don't see that changing for a good while. You ought to look at products rather than their advertisements. :)
     
  20. Enigm

    Enigm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    188
    There were A LOT fewer 'security-software' companies back in the 1990's so I almost wish they were stuck ..
    (Also, in the 1990's you were likely a geek if you even had a computer)
    The 'truth' IMHO is : The whole concept of real-time antivirus/security-software is just plain wrong .
    The solution you suggest is much better -
     
  21. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Same here - screen jitters, flashes, strange streaks on startup. That from both TS and IS. No other AV has ever done that to my computer.
     
  22. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    I took another posters suggestion, and went with the IS version. So far no issues, so I deployed it to it's first working machine to test it. TS seems much worse than IS so far, I like the lack of bloat in IS. I haven't isolated any specific troubles. The only thing noted so far is the Bit Defender database updates are slightly slow, like the download speed is capped or something.
     
  23. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    Seems to me most AV products are pretty lousy.. At least that's my opinion.. Only 2 really stand out for me.. ESET and F-Secure.. The rest seem to come saddled with their own hassles/frustrations, or require ridiculous levels of configuration, or bloat removal.

    Kaspersky - tried 2014 on a test machine.. Spiked the CPU.. Once that cooled, it was 'consistently' keeping the Drive I/O going. This has a system impact over the long term as that IO is no longer free for other applications, and programs. It was quickly removed.

    Qihoo 360 (both versions) - seemed light, but full of false positives. Worse, whitelisting doesn't work properly in it. I tried whitelisting the FP's over a dozen times, and it kept re-detecting them. Also the BD engine updates are excruciatingly slow, sometimes taking 10 minutes (on a 60Mbps connection).

    Avira - slows boots, and lacks effective PUP detection in my experience. But the overall 'drag' with getting your internet connection after restart/boot is quite high.

    Panda2014 - spikes CPU, causes random BSOD's (or system restarts in Win8.1x). Seems light at first, then randomly seems to spike CPU for no apparently reason. I'm talking 20-30% spikes on a 3.6Ghz quad core - that's substantial. Uninstaller almost always fails.

    Webroot - uses well over 600MB of ram as it 'buries' itself within Explorer+WindowsFW, explorer spikes to 10 times it's size in some cases, and the spikes on CPU use for both rise dramatically. This allegedly is caused by WSA using the pagefile regardless of system ram. (say what?) Also random freezes in protected applications drove me insane.

    That's why I appreciate ESET.. Install it, click a few checkboxes, and forget it.. No spikes, no CPU jumping, no pagefile nonsense, reasonable ram use, no drive IO issues. Bootups are speedy, PUP detection is awesome.. So really, I think I am simply finished trying other products as long as ESET keeps to their core values. What point is there to continue the examining frustrating products year after year? It's like AV companies are stuck in the 1990s - except for ESET, and lack quality engineering/QA staff to iron this nonsense out.
     
  24. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    while eset is one of my top choices it has its issues. one for example is with streaming or you tube etc where it tends to slow things down. causes videos to want to buffer imo to often. while i agree 100% that eset is by far one of the lightest out there imo all av's have their pluses and negatives. i dont think their will ever be any one perfect av. and for me i am not a huge fan at least up till this point of f-secure.
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Please make a new topic for this issue in our official forum https://forum.eset.com. We haven't received any complaints or reports of ESET slowing down streaming so we'll be happy to troubleshoot it. To start off, we'd need to know what operating system you are using and whether disabling web protection or protocol filtering in the advanced setup make a difference. As a temporary workaround, you could try adding "http://www.youtube.com*" to the list of addresses excluded from protocol filtering in the URL management setup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.