Automatic response to alerts and notifications

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by dcramphorn, Jan 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I am using Eset NOD32 AV v3 and need the ability to automatically respond to alerts and notifications found. I use forensic software to interrogate hard disks and need to be able to complete this with no user intervention to acknowledge virus alerts and notifications. I have cleaning set to 'no cleaning' but this still produces and alert if a virus is found. I have also disabled all alerts and notification bit I believe 'critical' alerts cannot be disabled.

    I have read a white paper on the new beta version that states "Notification messages can be hidden and automatically responded to on a per-window basis."

    Is this correct, and will this solve my problem?
     
  2. Jdeane

    Jdeane Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    UK
    you phoned me earlier and i've had time to think about it, you probably actually want to run a Custom scan and tick the option to scan with without cleaning, this should do what want.

    Jon
     
  3. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I believe setting the cleaning to 'no cleaning' still produces and alert which requires a manual 'click' before scanning continues. I need alerts to be logged but not require a manual intervention.
     
  4. Jdeane

    Jdeane Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    UK
    you will get all the threats found logged in the 'On-demand Computer scan' logs
     
  5. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    But when a threat is found I still get prompted for an action before a scan continues. I need this to be automatic with no user intervention?
     
  6. Jdeane

    Jdeane Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    UK
    With my default settings and using a Custom scan to scan folders which I know to contain threats with a scan profile of In-depth scan and the option to Scan without cleaning ticked results in a scan completing with not notifications appearing. The log generated and shown below shows the files detected.

    Scan Log
    Version of virus signature database: 3806 (2009012:cool:
    Date: 2009-01-28 Time: 13:59:16
    Scanned disks, folders and files:
    C:\Documents and Settings\user\Desktop\scan me\oriajnjv.dll - Win32/Adware.SuperJuan application
    C:\Documents and Settings\jonathan.deane\Desktop\scan me\prunnet.exe - Win32/VB.NVE trojan
    C:\Documents and Settings\jonathan.deane\Desktop\scan me\rjbthm.dll - Win32/Adware.SuperJuan application
    C:\Documents and Settings\jonathan.deane\Desktop\scan me\urqQIYRJ.dll - Win32/Adware.Virtumonde application
    Number of scanned objects: 179
    Number of threats found: 4
    Number of cleaned objects: 0
    Time of completion: 13:59:18 Total scanning time: 2 sec (00:00:02)
     
  7. Waterfox

    Waterfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    Sweden

    What you need is to set On-demand scan in advanced setup to strict cleaning, this way you won't get any alert window when malware is cleaned.
     
  8. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I don't what malware to be cleaned though. I just want an alert sent to a log file so I can action the cleaning later. The data being scanned is forensic software that must stay intact.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Run a scan (without cleaning) and, if malware is found, delete it manually later.
     
  10. Hawk82

    Hawk82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    hey,

    first u need to set that slider in on-demand computer scan to "no cleaning"

    ex1.jpg

    than u must untick in user interface->alerts and notifications the "display alerts" box :

    ex2.jpg

    cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.