Automatic response to alerts and notifications

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by dcramphorn, Jan 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I am using Eset NOD32 AV v3 and need the ability to automatically respond to alerts and notifications found. I use forensic software to interrogate hard disks and need to be able to complete this with no user intervention to acknowledge virus alerts and notifications. I have cleaning set to 'no cleaning' but this still produces and alert if a virus is found. I have also disabled all alerts and notification bit I believe 'critical' alerts cannot be disabled.

    I have read a white paper on the new beta version that states "Notification messages can be hidden and automatically responded to on a per-window basis."

    Is this correct, and will this solve my problem?
     
  2. Jdeane

    Jdeane Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    UK
    you phoned me earlier and i've had time to think about it, you probably actually want to run a Custom scan and tick the option to scan with without cleaning, this should do what want.

    Jon
     
  3. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I believe setting the cleaning to 'no cleaning' still produces and alert which requires a manual 'click' before scanning continues. I need alerts to be logged but not require a manual intervention.
     
  4. Jdeane

    Jdeane Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    UK
    you will get all the threats found logged in the 'On-demand Computer scan' logs
     
  5. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    But when a threat is found I still get prompted for an action before a scan continues. I need this to be automatic with no user intervention?
     
  6. Jdeane

    Jdeane Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    UK
    With my default settings and using a Custom scan to scan folders which I know to contain threats with a scan profile of In-depth scan and the option to Scan without cleaning ticked results in a scan completing with not notifications appearing. The log generated and shown below shows the files detected.

    Scan Log
    Version of virus signature database: 3806 (2009012:cool:
    Date: 2009-01-28 Time: 13:59:16
    Scanned disks, folders and files:
    C:\Documents and Settings\user\Desktop\scan me\oriajnjv.dll - Win32/Adware.SuperJuan application
    C:\Documents and Settings\jonathan.deane\Desktop\scan me\prunnet.exe - Win32/VB.NVE trojan
    C:\Documents and Settings\jonathan.deane\Desktop\scan me\rjbthm.dll - Win32/Adware.SuperJuan application
    C:\Documents and Settings\jonathan.deane\Desktop\scan me\urqQIYRJ.dll - Win32/Adware.Virtumonde application
    Number of scanned objects: 179
    Number of threats found: 4
    Number of cleaned objects: 0
    Time of completion: 13:59:18 Total scanning time: 2 sec (00:00:02)
     
  7. Waterfox

    Waterfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    Sweden

    What you need is to set On-demand scan in advanced setup to strict cleaning, this way you won't get any alert window when malware is cleaned.
     
  8. dcramphorn

    dcramphorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I don't what malware to be cleaned though. I just want an alert sent to a log file so I can action the cleaning later. The data being scanned is forensic software that must stay intact.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    Run a scan (without cleaning) and, if malware is found, delete it manually later.
     
  10. Hawk82

    Hawk82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    hey,

    first u need to set that slider in on-demand computer scan to "no cleaning"

    ex1.jpg

    than u must untick in user interface->alerts and notifications the "display alerts" box :

    ex2.jpg

    cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.