authentium and F-prot- Use the same definitions

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jlo, Jan 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I was wondering do Authentium AV and F-prot use the same definitions as I have seen Authentium release defs more frequently than F-prot. Also do I beed to send samples to both labs or if I just send to Authentium will F-prot get them.

    Does anyone know?

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Authentium are supposed to add their own definitions, apart from Frisk's, to their own database BUT on all the tests that I have seen they score pretty much the same detection rate.

    I agree that Authentium seem to update more often than Frisk but maybe this is because they release a smaller number of definitions each time!

    I would think that sending the samples to one of the two would suffice but I would check with their support to confirm this.
     
  3. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Blackcat.
     
  4. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    In fact the 'Inspector Clouseau' may stop by. He may know?

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  5. Inspector Clouseau

    Inspector Clouseau AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    Authentium uses F-Prot engine and is able to add virus defs themself.
     
  6. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks very much for dropping in.

    So if a sample is sent to the Aunthentium sample address and they add it will you also receive it at some point in the future or do samples need to be sent to you virus submission page on your website?

    Thanks

    Jlo
     
  7. Supportguy

    Supportguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    You would only need to send to one of the Viruslabs. Sending samples to both will only end up that one of the labs adds it to the definitions and the second one ignoring the submission as it would be present in the definitions already.

    SG
     
  8. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks so much Support Guy and the Inspector for you input.

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.