Auslogics Anti Virus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Cimmerian, Jul 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Hi all. I received an email from Auslogics announcing the new version of their AV, now V 15. Does anyone here have any prior experience with this program? I know it uses the Bitdefender engine, but I've never trialed it. I'm curious what third party firewalls would play nice with it, but I don't have the free time to play around with anything right now. I appreciate any input you all might have.
     
  2. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Why would I want to buy this?
    It's $30 a year. No offline installer.

    Seems silly compared to Roboscan IS.
    Free version, offline installer, additional AV engine & a firewall component available not thrust on one. Oh yeah the Pro version is what $10 a year?
     
  4. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have no problem problem buying a program from a vendor like Auslogics. They offer several different pretty good freebies, so one could say paying for one supports the others. The installer issue doesn't bother me much, as long as I'm using a trust worthy website to install from.
    And as you can see by my sig, I'm using Roboscan now, and I believe I can use the free Auslogics programs to pretty much do what I would have to pay Roboscan $10 for...lol..
     
  5. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
  6. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
    I downloaded Auslogics Anti Virus and attempted to install it and it said that I had to uninstall Malwarebytes Anti-Malware in order to continue. No thanks!
     
  7. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yeah, this can be a pain, but MBAM can be reinstalled afterwards. Kaspersky will tell you the same thing if any other security programs are installed.
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    unless they changed the engine somehow its basically bitdefender with the auslogics name. i tested it out and it appears to be a clone of bd almost exactly the same.
     
  9. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
    Well, I uninstalled Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and installed Auslogics Anti-Virus. It seems to run smoothly and not use up too many resources. The only thing I wish it had is the ability to choose the response action when an item is found. Its real quiet and just kills stuff - everything I've thrown at it so far. Overall a great product.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
  10. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Just in case anyone is interested, I emailed Auslogics support about any 3rd party firewalls conflicting with Auslogics AV. The reply was-(Antivirus is compatible only with the "pure" firewalls, i.e. the firewalls which don't have any of antivirus functions.)
    Not the clearest response, I think. I'm guessing they mean no HIPS?
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    I don't think that HIPS would be an issue. You just shouldn't use their antivirus alongside a security suite, due the usual probem of the two different antivruses not working well (or at all) together.
     
  12. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Perhaps you're right...I took "pure" firewall to mean a 2-way one, like Look 'n' Stop, or ZoneAlarm, without all the bells & whistles.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.