ATIH 2009: Backup cycle - how to achieve this?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ChrisJenkins, Jun 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ChrisJenkins

    ChrisJenkins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    I am using ATIH 2009 latest build. What I want to do is to be able to establish the following backup cycle and have it work completely automatically:

    Day 1: Full backup (F1)
    Days 2-7: Incremental backups (I2 - I7)
    Day 8: New full backup (F2). When successfully completed, delete incrementals from previous full (I2 - I7) leaving just the previous full (F1).
    After the 'Day 8' processing I am left with just 2 full backups (F1 and F2)
    Days 9-14: Incremental backups (I9 - I14)
    After day 14 I have two full backups (F1 and F2) and a set of incrementals (I9 - I14) based on F2.
    Day 15: Delete oldest full backup (F1). Repeat' Day 8' processing to leave previous full backup (F2) and newly created full backup (F3).
    and so on.

    I had this setup working very nicely using standard Windows backup and Task Scheduler but it seems impossible (or at least very complicated) in ATIH 2009.

    Any suggestions anyone?

    Thanks, Chris
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    The solution I follow is to use an earlier Version of True Image Home.
    All previous versions which I have used made it easy to do what you require.
    If you don't have an earlier version which runs on your hardware I can't help you. There are however some users who have come up with workarounds for Version 2009 short comings. Vlad is a shining star in getting 2009 to work in a way that users want.

    Xpilot
     
  3. Davidj

    Davidj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Posts:
    43
    Chris,

    The method Xpilot referred to by Vlad may be found at:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=228046 post 4. Some other threads you may find useful if you choose to use this workaround may be found in threads numbered 238281, 231374, and 234343.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. The Gold Tooth

    The Gold Tooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ChrisJenkins,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image Home 2009

    Try the following workaround:

    * Download the attached file removeold.vbs.txt to a directory in your computer
    * Rename this script from removeold.vbs.txt into removeold.vbs (the forum rules do not allow to attach vbs files, that's why we need this workaround).
    * Create a new and fresh backup task in Acronis 2009. Be aware you need at least build 9646.
    * As backup method choose incremental or differential. Check the box Create a new full backup after n backups and choose something for n.
    * Do not check the box Remove old archives - the script will do this in a more intelligent fashion
    * In the backup options go to Pre-/Post commands. As pre command enter removeold.vbs, as working directory choose the directory where you stored the vbs-file. As parameter 1 type the directory which you specified in the backup task as target directory (for example K:\MyBackups). As parameter 2 set the amount of MBs this directory should not exceed.
    * That's it. From now on before a backup task will be performed the script will check whether the folder which should receive the newest backup is exceeding the given size. If yes, it will delete the oldest series. It will not delete anything if there is only one series.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.