ATI Home 10 compatible with diskkeeper?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by eamnomadic, Nov 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eamnomadic

eamnomadic Registered Member

I take regular ATI image copies to an external USB drive (and I have recovered successfully from it on a number of occasions, so I know it works).
    Because I take regular image copies, I periodically delete older image copies and assumed this could cause some defragmentation on the drive.
    When I try to run diskkeeper on the backup drive, it goes into some kind of loop, continuously reading (and writingo_O) the drive and I have to break it to end it.
    Since I have been using diskkeeper for a couple of years without problem, it appears to be something to do with ATI or the format it uses.
    Can anyone please throw some light on this? Is there something about the format of image copies that makes it incompatible with diskkeeper?

eamnomadic

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

There is nothing different about a TI tib file other than they tend to be very large. Does Diskeeper have enough spare room on the drive to do its shuffling?

I personally wouldn't bother with a defrag on a drive that only holds images unless maybe it has been in use for a long time (whatever that means). When you delete an image you free up large blocks of space. It is not the same as writing a bunch of small files and then deleting a few in the middle causing fragmentation. This is my thought but I have no knowledge of the algorithm Windows uses to decide where to write data.

My other thought about not bothering with defragging stems from the fact that image files are rarely if ever used which is quite different from some other files which may be accessed many times per day. Also, since a typical TI restore time is measured in minutes adding a few seconds onto the task doesn't really matter.

3. mm00659

mm00659 Registered Member