ATI 9 Cloning Help!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MRCUR, Oct 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MRCUR

MRCUR Registered Member

Hi Everyone, this is my first time posting here so we will see how it goes.

I have an HP ze2000 laptop with a 60GB 4200RPM drive in it that I want to clone, yes clone NOT image, to a new WD 40GB 54000RPM drive. I purchased the drive, along with a Sabrent Super Slim USB 2.0 enclosure which the drive is now in. I have initialized the drive and formatted it, after my first cloning attempt didn't work. That all went well, but now the cloning still doesn't work.

When I first got the drive, I put it in the enclosure and initialized it since WD doesn't do that at the factory. That was fine and Windows XP Home said that it was active, and had 37GB or so of unpartitioned space. So I downloaded and installed the ATI 9 15 day trial, and that went fine. So I then went through the disk cloning Wizard and first tried Automatic mode. All the options were what I wanted, copy the internal drive, disk 1, to the external dirve, disk 2, and make one big partition on dirve 2, and then copy the MBR over to make the dirve bootable.

When the computer rebooted, it did not recognize the USB drive. So once Windows was back up, I ren the Wizard this time, but went through manual mode and checked what I wanted, same as what the auto mode did. SO the computer rebooted and Acronis found the disk this time, but after like 15 mins. or so, it came up with an error that said, "CANNOT READ SECTION 63 (or something to that effect) OF THE HARD DISK. RETRY, IGNORE" So I did retry, and the same thing happens, while this is going on the HDD is going back and forth between writing (RED LIGHT), and idle (GREEN LIGHT.) So I shut down the computer.