ATI 9.0 Home does not support SATA2 (eSATA) Drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dhc0329, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Does anyone know if ATI 9.0 Home support SATA 2? I don't recall the exact error message but it wouldn't allow me to recover backup image on SATA2 to SATA2 hard drive. It says something about there's no drives. When I connect the SATA 1 or IDE drive all seems to be working fine.

    Can Acronis confirm or tell us when it can support SATA 2?

    I can't use this product if it can't support SATA 2. I am sure everyone will think the same.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2006
  2. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Oh this is what I am getting...

    E000101F4: Acronis True Image Home has not found any hard disk drives

    I can back up the drive but can't recover. bummer..
     
  3. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    I use a SATA-2 drive (Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB S300 16mb) with ATI 9.0 home and without any problems.

    F.
     
  4. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Are you on Intel Core 2 or AMD? Which MB do you use?
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    TI can see my SATA2 internal HDs. I haven't tried it with my eSATA external HD yet.

    When I first used my eSATA HD I couldn't see it from Windows even though I could see my SATA2 internal HDs. This was corrected by upgrading the Intel SATA drivers.
     
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi dhc0329,

    when I said I had no problems with my SATA2 drive it appears I was mistaken.

    I have checked my logbook notes and the only images I have successfully restored to the SATA2 drive were ones backed up from the previous PATA drive which I later replaced (cloned) with the SATA2 one. I can also create an image of the C: active partition from the SATA2 drive without a problem, but when I try to restore it back it does the following:

    Under Windows: It asks to reboot (as expected), boots up ATI which does a (very) quick scan of the drives and presents an "Operation Failed" dialogue box. Pressing OK reboots the system (the original partition has been untouched).

    Under the rescue disk: Selecting the image which was created an verified under windows half an hour earlier, gives a "Corrupted File" dialogue when it is selected.

    My system is as follows:

    Mobo : ASRock K8NF4G-SATA2, Chipsets 6100/410
    CPU : AMD Sempron 3400+
    Disk : Western Digital SATA2, Caviar SE16 250GB S300 16mb
    RAM : 1 GB Crucial 184Pin DIMM PC3200 Non-Parity CL2 64Mx64
    OS : Windows XP Pro SP2 + All critical updates
    ATI : Version 9.0 Home build 3677

    Comments welcomed from Acronis on the official support for SATA2. Perhaps I should try downloading the latest drivers to see if they make any difference.

    F.
     
  7. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Running TI9 B 3567
    Desktop HP Compaq DX6120, one year old, no update of SATA drives; WinXP Pro SP2, updated
    Internal drives 2 Seagate Barracuda SATA-I
    External USB drive Seagate Barracuda SATA-II.

    I have always restored from the second internal SATA-I drive only (my first level image storage), but I just went to simulate a restore from the USB external SATA-II (the second level image storage). Well, I didn't Proceed, but all the steps of the Recovery wizard went through without a problem.
     
  8. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    I was not able to restore the images on SATA-2 only environment.
    Not sure if it was chipset issue but I was able to restore the image located in SATA-1 drive to SATA-2 drive using MB w/ Intel 975x chipset.
    Again, the restoration failed using the image on SATA-2 to SATA-2 drive
    using MB w/ Intel 965 chipset.

    Safe mode allows me to restore but I can't use the USB drive.
     
  9. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    SORRY, correction to my title ..it should read...ATI 9.0 Home does not support SATA2 Drives...no eSATA as eSATA is not equal to SATA-2.
     
  10. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    As a followup to my own post I have now tried using the latest driver update and this makes no difference. Here is a copy of my support request:


    Unable to restore back to SATA2 drive

    Overview
    --------
    I have used ATI for a while on my system without a problem. I recently changed my PATA drive for a SATA2 drive. Since then, although I can backup an image which verifies OK - if I try to restore it, even though I verify it first, I get an error and the operation fails. *Note* A restore to the new SATA2 drive will work however with old images which were backed up from my old PATA drive before I changed it. It appears that only images created *from* the SATA2 drive are the problem.

    More Detail
    -----------
    Whenever I try to restore with an image from the current drive, ATI asks to reboot. On restarting the backup begins and I immediately get an error E00070020 "the archive is corrupted". I have tried this with numerous images, created and verified just minutes before.

    If I try to boot from the rescue disk, I use the wizard and at the point where I have to select the partition from the backup image I get the "archive corrupted" error.

    Other Points
    ------------
    1. Despite being identified as "corrupt" Images do mount OK
    2. I have already downloaded and installed the latest drivers (on 5th Oct) and they do not change the symptoms.

    3. My system is as follows:

    Mobo : ASRock K8NF4G-SATA2, Chipsets 6100/410
    CPU : AMD Sempron 3400+
    Disk : Western Digital SATA2, Caviar SE16 250GB S300 16mb
    RAM : 1 GB Crucial 184Pin DIMM PC3200 Non-Parity CL2 64Mx64
    OS : Windows XP Pro SP2 + All critical updates
    ATI : Version 9.0 Home build 3677


    F.
     
  11. corinthian

    corinthian Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Tupelo, MS
    bVolk, it would be interesting to see your results if you had proceeded. Brian K. (as well as some other regular posters) have been working with me for seemingly endless hours over on the thread "HAL .dll corrupt/missing AGAIN" trying to solve a problem that may turn out to be related to SATA. Although I guess it might not be exactly the same, since the external drive is not SATA. But when restoring from the external drive to a new internal SATA, it has proved impossible to boot from this new drive, even though "all the steps of the Recovery wizard went through without a problem" and all the messages from Acronis through every stage of the image making all the way to the restore (and including validations) claim that everything is A-OK. And even though the SATA (300) drive can be viewed from Windows when booted from the original Seagate PATA drive, and the files copied (restored) appear identical and of the same size as the original drive, and everything shows as okay in disk management. I can even restore from one of these images individual files to this Western Digital SATA drive and then those files are fully functional when viewed from Windows on the Seagate drive! But nonetheless, even after hours of trying that drive will not boot.

    So this problem may be related to the trouble with an external SATA drive, or any external drive trying to restore to a SATA drive, or it may not. Also, an additional complication in my case is that my computer does not inherently support SATA, but I had to install this hard drive by way of a SATA 300 PCI control card.

    But it would have been interesting to verify your results restoring from the external drive to one of your internal SATA drives, because my experiences prove that everything can look perfect all the way through every stage of the Acronis imaging/restoration, and still not work at all as far as rebooting a new drive.
    Bill
     
  12. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Well,there might be something here indeed.

    From Rescue CD, I imaged (one by one) two smaller data partions from the SATA-I system disk, storing them on the external USB SATA-II and then restoring back to SATA-I. Both actions went well.

    But when I tried to do the same with the system partition I got errors after about 20% of imaging:
    E000101F4: Failed to read from sector xxx of the HD3 (the external),
    E00070004: Failed to write data to the archive file - a possible reason might be poor media quality.

    Since my computer froze twice on shutdown earlyer today (before the testing above) I returned to Windows where everything seemed to work and starting from there restored a two days old image of C: residing on the second internal SATA-I, as I always do. At the end I received an error message stating that Restoration has been completed with errors (the number of sectors didn't match ?) and I couldn't boot into Windows. Restoring an earlier image of C: (with MBR) from the same location finally worked.

    Now I want to verify the soundness of both drives involved before repeating the test. I'll report back.
     
  13. troubledAGAIN

    troubledAGAIN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    I have just did a clone of one of my drives to SATAll drive with no problems. The source drive was a Maxtor 300g ATA with 16mb cache connected to Silicon Image sil680 add-in card and the destination drive was a Seagate SATAll with 16mb cache connected to a JMicron controller on the MB. Everything worked fine.

    I have also just imaged 2 satal drives, created striped RAID array out of both and Restored the images to the RAID. RAID is now partitioned. These were not system partitions; no operating systems installed on them.

    Using version 3677
     
  14. corinthian

    corinthian Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Tupelo, MS
    Wow, that is interesting! I finally succeeded at a restore, by restoring from my external hard drive to an older PATA. This restore booted right up, and no Sata was involved in this either from the external hard drive or on the disk being restored to. So now I'm still in the middle of a search to figure out if the problem is related to the Sata drive or something else. Because one thing that was different about this restore was that for some reason, I had an option to click a box labeled "disk 1", which automatically selected both partitions and the MBR at the same time. I don't always have that option, and even if I did I had not selected it on previous restore attempts. Anyway, at least I am now able to restore to one individual internal drive, and I'm still working on the source of problems with the other drive: Sata2 drive, SATA2 control cards, or some error in option selections during restore or imaging, or something else.
    Bill
     
  15. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Further to my post #12.

    The external was reported as good by CheckDisk while the C: drive needed some cleaning of "minor inconsistencies" (unused index entries and unused security descriptors).

    But in the meantime the external was becoming more and more difficult to start. Once it also failed on a simple file-copy operation - in Windows, of course. So I took another USB cable and plugged it to different port, for good measure.

    After that I booted from the Rescue CD and have been able to create an image of C: (SATA-I) directly to the external SATA-II and successfully restore it from there.
     
  16. corinthian

    corinthian Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Tupelo, MS
    Ah, yes, the old USB problems. In the meantime I have managed to restore an image of a PATA WD drive to a SATA2 WD drive by way of external USB drive. So I guess the reason I have been unable to restore an image of the Seagate PATA to the WD SATA is not a problem with the SATA drive or its drivers. A problem unresolved that is still being worked on.
    Bill
     
  17. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I have split of the "cooling" issues to a new thread here.
     
  18. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA

    Detox,

    Thanks for your assistence. I asked Detox if he would split off this thread, as, while I am happy to discuss external HD and system cooling issues, I didn't think it made sense to discuss them under a thread about SATA 2 compatibility.

    Please join the discussion in the new thread...if you are so inclined.

    Regards
     
  19. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    dhc0329,

    Since you said that you can't recover, I would suspect the problem on your system, is not having disk access under Linux mode. Several members have recently reported that Acronis Support has provided them with a link to an updated ATI Boot disc, which supports some newer SATA controllers. You could contact them via PM, tell them which SATA controller(s) you use, and ask for a new boot disc.

    Another suggestion, which has also helped others with your error message, is to download and install the latest Acronis Drivers, which control disk access in TI while running in Windows. These drivers get updated between builds.

    The latest version of Acronis drivers

    Have you tried using the F-11 workaround in Boot Mode, detailed in the Help Sticky above?

    Be sure to type the exact line above - note, acpi is not apic.


    Regards
     
  20. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    You are using the chipset that Acronis Support is providing users an ISO with drivers that will support your mainboard/SATA operations in Boot Mode.

    Here's what they have to say (Oct. 10, 2006):

    So, get the ISO, and see if this doesn't get you underway.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.