ATI 9.0 Home and file filter option

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by chrizio, May 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    My ATI 9.0 Home ignores the file exclusion rules while making a backup.
    File exclusion rule set to "exclude all files/folders from following list".
    Nevertheless files/folders listed there are included in the backup file.
    I can see this by verifying / restoring the backup.

    What's wrong ?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is the backup a "Files & Folders" backup or a "My Computer" (image) backup?

    In TI 9, you can't exclude any files or folders from an image backup. This feature was introduced with TI 11.
     
  3. chrizio

    chrizio Guest


    Yes, from other thread I know now that exclusion rules are good for excluding files only. For excluding complete folders appropriate source file set has to be selected.
    More complicated as exclusion rules.
    Yes, it is the case "files and folders".

    Does the image backup still base in ATI 11 on low-level data ?
    How does this version then manage to apply file exclusion rules ?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It just leaves them out of the image. I assume it reads the FAT, finds what sectors are used by a specific file and doesn't include it (kind of like what it does with the page and hibernation files).

    I use this feature on the only drive I use TI 11 for backups (specifically for that reason). I can exclude all of my large files (mp3, mpg, iso, aa, qic, wav). This drops 250GB down to around 40GB. (I also have "file" backups of my important files.)
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chrizio,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (3854) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Could you please clarify, have you chosen to use Default Backup Options during the task creation wizard? Is the backup full or incremental type?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. chrizio

    chrizio Guest


    My build is 3694. I will update asap.
    Does the last build behave better in this sense ?
    It is the differential one. And of the type "files and folders".
    It could be I have chosen non-default backup options.
    But the backup create wizard asks extra for exclusion rules in a dedicated step.
    So I don't see any problem while not choosing defaults.
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do the files get excluded correctly if you set the exclude options in the defaults instead of in the backup wizard step?
     
  8. chrizio

    chrizio Guest


    Sorry, I don't understand.
    My Acronis account claims following:
    "Letztes verfügbares Update: Build #3694, 2006-08-11. Update downloaden.

    Änderungen:

    * Gui fixes
    * Better hardware support"

    It isn't consistent with your statement.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chrizio,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please notice that different language versions of Acronis True Image have different builds. Build 3694 is the latest for your language version of Acronis True Image.

    Could you please collect some information to let us investigate the problem thoroughly?

    Please create a screenshot of the exclusions screen filled with values you want to exclude.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  10. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    While bying ATI 9.0 home some when in 2006/2007 it was intention to purchase the english version. But the German resaler web has automatically delivered the German one. In the meantime I have asked acronis for migration opportunities from my German 9.0 Home to English 11.0 Home. Till now no feedback.

    > Could you please collect some information to let us investigate the problem
    > thoroughly?
    Your request suggests that following statement (found once in this forum)
    is not correct.
    "For excluding files or set of files use exclusion rules. For excluding whole directories set the proper source data rule."
    What does apply ?
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chrizio,

    We are sorry for delayed response.
    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the resolution of your case is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.
    Please notice that it does apply. The screenshot would let us know the exact way you have set up the exclusions, and check if that particular setup may indeed cause problems.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.