ATI 2009: "Failed to Backup File or Folder " Error. Why?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Goodcooker, Jan 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Goodcooker

    Goodcooker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Just purchased a 1TB external USB drive (Seagate), and have performed a full System backup onto that drive as well as set up separate backups on folders such as "My Documents", which contain a vast number of music and photo files that are updated regularly.

    When I first performed the full backup of "My Documents", as well as whenever a scheduled incremental backup starts, I get the message:

    Failed to Backup File or Folder "

    When this pops up, I'm given the option to "Retry", "Ignore", "Ignore All", etc. This error occurs whether the task automatically scheduled to occur, or if I initiate the backup manually.

    When I click 'Ignore', the backup proceeds and completes just fine. The problem is that I have to physically click the 'Ignore' button for the backup to proceed. Not as automatic as I had hoped.

    What am I doing wrong? I've set the external drive to always be 'On' vs. in a sleep mode. Makes no difference. What would give ATI the impression that there is a problem with backing up a file/folder, when 'Ignoring' that problem allows the backup to proceed?

    Thx in advance for the help!
     
  2. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    do you use the brand new version of Ti2009 (build 9709) ?

    If not, download it using Acronis website and check whether the problem persist.



    ByTheWay:
    You say:
    The blue and the red coloured parts doesn't fit.
    If you backup "MyDocuments" the you do a 'folder-backup' and never a FULL-backup.
    Or do I misunderstand?
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Have you run chkdsk to see if there are any prob files on the disk that show up in the table but can't be properly accessed?
     
  4. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Shieber has a good point here. Run a "chkdsk /r" on your harddisk. This fixed a similar problem on my computer.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Goodcooker,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    If check disk doesn’t solve the issue then contact Acronis support and submit technical request using this link or contact us via Live Chat describe the issue and attach log file of the error message as well as Acronis Report:

    - Start Acronis True Image;
    - Select Tools -> Show log;
    - Choose the log entry which contains errors;
    - Click on the diskette icon, choose the location (folder) and save there;
    - Send us the log.

    Could you please download Acronis Report utility available at http://download.acronis.com/support/AcronisReport.exe and run it, create a report and send it to us? Please compress the Acronis Report output file into an archive (e.g. with WinZip) and attach to your message by browsing for the archive. This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.