ATI 2009 and Microsoft Office

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rubberducky, Mar 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rubberducky

    rubberducky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    Does Microsoft Office (2002 and later) need to be reactivated after restoring with ATI Home 2009? Does anybody have any experience with this?
     
  2. Tatou

    Tatou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    The versions of ATI 2009 prior to the latest defaulted to excluding .bak files.
    Office uses .bak files to store information (madness) and when it can't find it needs to be reactivated.

    The latest version of ATI 2009 defaults to including bak files in the backup.

    If you have an earlier version make sure the exclude bak is NOT checked
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    This is all due to a bit of whackiness on MS's part, that is, relying on/requiring *.bak files even when all the regular files are in perfectly good order. Rather than jsut making new bak files, it requires reinstalling of major components if the bak files are missing. Just MS's little way of screwing with ya ;)
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    For informational purposes I will add that another poster found that his Netgear wireless router used a .tmp file to store its configuration. IMO, this is slightly stupider than using .bak files for important data.

    Personally, I think a backup image should be just that an image not something you've eliminated files from because you don't think you will need them, even in an emergency.
     
  5. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    The only program I have found to require re activation was Adobe Photoshop CS2, this proved to be painless over the internet. There was threads on the reason some time ago. Microsoft Office has always restored correctly but I don't exclude any files.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.