ATI 10 Home: Backup to Network Share an USB-Disk very slow

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Hannes14, Mar 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hannes14

    Hannes14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi!

    I tried to make an image of my C-Parition and started ATI with the Boot-CD.
    Backup-Size is about 5 GB and the backup-file ist about 3,5 GB.

    First I tried to backup to my external USB 2.0 drive. Backup started and showed estimated time about 15 hours. After 3 hours and nothing moved I cancelled.

    The I tried to backup to a network share. I entered IP-Adress and user-name and password and selected the folder. After starting the backup I watched the file-size on the other PC. After a few seconds the file-size was about 180MB an then suddenly it stopped. Hours later ... nothing happens --> cancel.
    Try again ... file-size reached about 280MB and the it stopped. 3rd time --> 450MB and it stopped again.

    Then I tried to backup to the same HDD but to another partition (C --> D). Image was finished in about 15 minutes ...

    What do you think is the problem?

    I tried both ... starting backup in Windows and with Boot-CD --> no difference.

    I hope anybody can help me. Thank you!
    Hannes
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If it doesn't work in Windows or from the rescue CD then it seems there is something wrong with your computer or drivers.

    Can you copy files over the network to the other computer from Windows?
    Is it fast or slow?

    Can you copy files to the USB 2.0 drive in Windows okay?
    Is it fast or slow?

    What are your computer specifications?
    Does the computer support USB 2.0?

    What version and build of TI are you using?
     
  3. Hannes14

    Hannes14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    @ MudCrab

    I can copy files from computer to computer over the network. It is fast. About 7 MB/s.
    Copying files from Computer to USB-drive (USB 2.0) is about 6 MB/s. So my 3,5 GB-file should be copied in about 10 minutes to the USB-drive. No chance ...

    I use a 3GHz-Pentium IV with 512MB Ram. I don't think that there is problem with the power of the computer ...

    I use ATI 10 Home 4.940.

    Funny thing I tried before:
    I made the backup on the same disk where the source-partition is (as I told in the last posting) and it worked fast. Then I copied the file manually to my external USB-drive and made a restore directly from the USB-drive to the internal HDD. And then the speed was fast, It needs about 13 minutes. Who can understand this?

    Any further ideas?

    Thank you ...
    Hannes
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is the computer or retail version or a custom built version?
    I ask because maybe we can narrow down the problem.
    If it's retail do you have the brand and model number?
    If custom do you have the motherboard brand and model?

    Your usb speeds are way too slow for usb 2.0. I get close to 20MB/sec on a copy from mine to the computer. A 3GB file takes about 2.5 minutes. Internal to internal takes about 63 seconds.

    What version of windows are you running?

    What speed is your network connection? 10Mbps, 100Mbps, 1000Mbps
    If you're getting 7MB/sec on the network, then the connection is probably 100Mbps. USB 2.0 is 480Mbps (over four times as fast) so you should be seeing much faster speeds.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    On a 100 Mbps network I get around 8.7-9.5 MB/s in a Windows copy. The machines at each end do have an effect but unless it is a real dog the network and overhead does the throttling.

    I don't have real USB numbers but it should be at least twice as fast as the network since theoretically it is almost 5 times faster and I doubt it has more overhead than TCP.

    Using the TI Linux CD naturally makes all of the above nothing more than interesting and if the network or any other needed driver is poor then the numbers are going to be worse.
     
  6. Hannes14

    Hannes14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    @ MudCrab:
    My Computer is a custom built version. The motherboard is called "ASRock P4VT8+".
    I use Windows XP SP2 with all offered updates from Microsoft. Ther is a 100Mbit-network.

    Now I checked the speed from Computer to the external USB disk again --> about 17 MB/s. That is ok, isn't it? I think when I tested the speed last time, I copied a file from the network to the USB disk and obviously the disk of my "server" is the bottle neck. It is an old computer and network speed is limited as a result of the disk speed at one end. But this could not be the reason of my problems, because even 6MB/s would mean a backup time of about 10 min.

    @ seekforever:
    Is it possible to change the drivers for USB or network to make it faster. perhaps it is really a driver-problem ...

    Thank you for your ideas ...
    Hannes
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The ASRock P4VT8+ is a Socket 478 P4 Board. I does support USB 2.0, which your new USB tests confirm. The Northbridge chipset is the VIA PT800 and the Southbridge chipset (which includes the USB 2.0 controller) is the VIA VT8237.

    There are a few posts with that chipset, but none are specifically having problems with the USB speeds.

    I think I would build a BartPE boot cd, since the Windows drivers seem to work much better for USB 2.0. mustang has created a how-to if you unfamiliar with the procedure.
     
  9. Hannes14

    Hannes14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi!

    I solved the problem by creating a BartPE boot CD with Acronis True Image plugin. 2nd possibility to restore my backups is copying it an my local HDD and restore it to the other partition.

    Thank you for your support. However I still don't know what the problem really is, but I can live with it.

    Bye ...
    Hannes
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.