AT 8.0 & DI 7.0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pepegot1, Jan 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pepegot1

    pepegot1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    Is there any reason why Acronis True Image 8.0 & Drive Image 7.0 cannot reside on the same computer without one disturbing the other?
    In other words, one backs up the other.
    Sorry for the double dip.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2005
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    I ran Acronis True Image and PowerQuest Drive Image 2002 in parallel for a few weeks until confident that TI was stable on my system. No problems.

    Regards
     
  3. mareke

    mareke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Running different image software on the one computer is fine but different versions of the same program may not be without its problems. Trying to install TI 8.0 it would want to update version 7.0 and I don't know if it would give you the choice of installing it separately to a different place. If you did manage to install it you could have 2 True Image monitors running in the background or one monitor for both versions which may be a problem. It's not something I would try.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pepegot1,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    The problems might occur because both programs (Acronis True Image and Powerquest Drive Image) use low level hard disk drivers. However usually Acronis True Image is able to work properly with other software.

    If the problem appears it appears when you create image rather than you restore one. Since in this case your system works normally you are able to uninstall Drive Image and work with Acronis True Image.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.