ASRock InstantBoot?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Oct 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have ASRock InstantBoot on my new desktop. Ermmm... what exactly is it? o_O
     
  2. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Europa
    Hey, cool for you now your new Pc get a Ferrari startup :


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BucIjXZVxXo

    enjoy!

    rules
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, cool. I knew there would be an advantage with AMD over Intel. :cool:
     
  4. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Hey, this is taking away my make-a-cup-o-coffee time. :D

    Isn't "Instant Boot" just another way to say "Sleep" or "Hibernate".

    I would be impressed if they used CoreBoot instead.
    12 second boot time and no requirement to maintain power to the RAM.
    I'm not a fan of keeping power on for RAM.
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Damn! I knew there would be a catch! LOL

    My PC boots up pretty quickly anyway. :cool:
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Any one knows how is works exactly? Is it specific to a mobo or is just a function of BIOS and why there is need to install a windows software?
    Thanks
     
  7. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    I don't understand why you say this. From what i know InstantBoot works on all the latest AsRock motherboards ( Intel and AMD ).

    It is specific to certain models ( all the latest ) and it's a functionality that requires: support by the Bios and the windows utility. Here is a link that explain some things but not all: http://www.asrock.com/feature/InstantBoot/index.asp
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I obviously don't know what I am talking about. I read some hype about how it works with AMD & assumed it was peculiar to that. I've not seen it on an Intel computer.

    I doubt I will use it anyway.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks
     
  10. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Europa
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.