ASRM & F11 Conflict

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Chappy, May 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chappy

Chappy Registered Member

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to Wilders but not new to the world of Tech Help & Security Forums.
    I administrate 3 online Tech Help & Security forums , moderate 2 others, and genarally post help at 10 or so online forums. I know many members here thru my other forums, many here are also members there too, and vice-versa.

I do have something I would like some clarification on concerning ASRM and the F11 hotkey function to use it. I've been reading posts concerning aspects of this for the last 2 hours and have come to a couple of conclusions that I would like confirmed, or shown different if that's the case.

First, by activating the ASRM feature, it overwrites the MBR and makes the "F8 to Safe Mode" unavailable....is that correct? Safe Mode would be unavailable? That's not something any Power User would want or allow IMHO.

Second, this machine is my first OEM (I know...I had to due to time constraints..:( ) and the access key during startup to impliment their proprietary Recovery Console is also F11. What would be the implications of activating the ASRM feature in TI10, and what would that do to this OEM Recovery Console?
    Would it eliminate it or will TI10 create a mini boot option screen? (that would be nice if it did!!) I dare not test this, I would HATE to lose one of my recovery options this way and I don't see them sharing the F11 hotkey, so another question would be..is there a way to remap ASRM to another key combo?