Ashampoo Free Firewall & Avast

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by MerleOne, May 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Hi,
    I recently decided to remove my "old" Sygate firewall from my XP Home machine because it consumed too much CPU. I tried Rising free firewall, but it disturbed my home lan (other windows machine couldn't see my Pc all the time). I removed it and tried Ashampoo Free Firewall. It seemed to be ok at first, however I just realized today that Avast 6 was not updating its signatures any longer. After the Ashampoo F/W was removed, Avast worked again.

    I just need a single feature : to block or authorize outgoing connections. Is there a recommendation ? Thanks.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2011
  2. jasonblake7

    jasonblake7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    Private Firewall which others will also recommend on here runs fine with avast 6.
    Light on resources.

    http://www.privacyware.com/personal_firewall.html

    I would not use ZoneAlarm free as its heavy on resources and increases boot up speed lots.
     
  3. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Thanks a lot. I'll try it soon.
     
  4. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    If you're not limiting your choice to freebies, and considering what you are looking for as an ideal candidate fw, Look 'n' Stop should be another excellent option to consider.
     
  5. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Thanks ! My requirements are pretty basic : no local network blocking of any kind ( I have a shared printer on this XP machine, plus several folders I want to share) and a learning mode for outgoing connections. Plus very little system load (it's a 6 years old PC...).
     
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    i would go with either ZA firewall or PCTOOLS which are light on resources and very easy to administrate
     
  7. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    I have tried yesterday Ghostwall and Personal Firewall. I had to uninstall both :
    - Ghostwall cannot learn which application is allowed to establish outbound connections, you can only specify manually the authorized IP addresses AFAIK. Too bad, since it seemed very light
    - Personal Firewall : the learn mode is implicit apparently, you don't get asked for confirmation when an application launches an outbound connection. And there are many added HIPS features I don't need at all.
    - I didn't tried LnS (seems complicated and many people seem to report issues here on Wilders)

    I have reverted to Sygate. Too bad for the CPU usage, but at least it works as expected.

    I had very bad experience with ZA in the past, so next time I'll want to change F/W, I'll probably try PCTools.

    Thanks all for your advices.
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Try FortKnox Personal Firewall

    it is a update to the old Sygate Firewall
    me thinks?? or at least it looks like it
    seems to work OK
    although I believe the best one would be "Look n Stop"
    but there is a learning curve to it:thumb:
     
  9. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    You should give Rising Firewall a spin.It worths.
     
  10. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    I think I am using the last released version of Sygate PF.

    Edited : sorry, I read too fast. I'll include FPF in my check list ! Thanks for your suggestion.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  11. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Thanks, but I already tried. It's rather technical to set up, but the bad part is that it messes up my home network. Sometimes the PC on which it is installed is not seen by the others, and locally the "net view" command gives an error message saying there is no list of servers available.

    After I removed it, the network features started to work again.
     
  12. tekkaman

    tekkaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    164
    Weird I haven't had problems with Rising firewall. Although last version I tried was 2008. Have you tried Sunbelt Firewall ?
     
  13. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    224
    How about Keiro Personal Firewall 2.1.5? No hips, just in/out bound control, the best I recall, and it's very light.
    http://www.321download.com/LastFreeware/page7.html#Kerio
     
  14. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    No, I don't think so. Currently I am using again the old Sygate...
     
  15. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Thanks, I didn't try it yet, but will add it to my list of potential candidates.
     
  16. mobiclue

    mobiclue Lurker

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Change Ashampoo Firewall settings to learning mode. After this it will prompt a box when an application tries to connect the internet. Allow all Avast modules-then the update would work fine.
     
  17. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Kerio 2.1.5 is a golden oldie. It's great if you're running WinXP, but it won't work on Vista or Win7.

    As to a replacement for Asham FW (burp), I recommend Private FW (supports 32-bit & 64-bit Windows 7 & Vista; Win XP 32-bit only).
     
  18. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    I tried just that (all of it), but it didn't work. Even when I exited the application, all apps were supposed to launch connections, it wouldn't connect.

    Only when I uninstalled the app it started to work again.
     
  19. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Since you just need the FW functions (from what I've read you don't want a HIPS) you can do the following: install Online Armor free and disable the HIPS (right click on the tray icon).
    You'll be left with a very light Firewall, easy to use and configurable.
     
  20. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Thanks for pointing out this other solution. Actually, something funny has happened : I removed Sygate in the first place because of the high CPU at boot time. After I reinstalled it, the settings for authorized outbound connections and logs were all erased, and I had to authorize manually all legitimate connections. But the CPU high usage was gone ! So I guess it was the state of the database finally !
     
  21. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Sygate hasn't been updated for years. I wonder how safe it is to still use it.
    I know that transmission protocols haven't changed, but how do we know that the product didn't suffer from some flaw(s) at the moment it stopped being devoloped?
     
  22. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    That's definitely a point, but since I am already behind my router which has its own firewall, and run an up to date AV, I guess I am not too much at risk. I just needed something that manually authorizes outbound connections, for regular apps.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.