Ashampoo AntiVirus Launched

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rayoflight, Sep 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    any idea what engine it uses?
     
  3. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks namor.

    btw great taste in music:) ac/dc is my favourite band
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    no problem lodore.

    One of my favorite bands too. ;)
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The engine is pretty much AVIRA IMO. But you are basically wasting your money if Ashampoo AV does not detect spyware (which is very much possible since Ashampoo has a separate AntiSpyware application), since you can get the same detection rates and protection from AntiVir PE free edition.
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    BTW, do have u any idea what is the origin of Ashampoo AS?
     
  8. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Well I installed it and checked the files out just to see if it was Antivir, and yes it uses Antivir. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    rebranded free version for 14.99 yay
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I wonder who will but this in that case? very strange!
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    omg your paying for a free av.
     
  12. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Not exactly. Because the free version of AVIRA has:

    # Slow update servers;
    # Nag-screen.

    This one hasn't, so it's not exactly paying for a free product.
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well thta is true but you still dont get adware and spyware detection or mailguard.

    antivir premium isnt much more.
     
  14. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    yes the price difference isn't that much. it'd have been a different scenario
    altogather had it been the BitDefender engine. some of us were pretty sure
    that it was BitDefender. i'll prefer AntiVir free over this Ashampoo anytime.
     
  15. Seishin

    Seishin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    204

    Easy switch to another top free alternative with fast updates and no nag-screens: Avast.

    BTW, that Ashampoo AV is a licensed clone of Avira. It looks that Ashampoo is in a partnership with Avira.

    [Edited]

    [Edited]


    Why to pay for something that is already free!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2006
  16. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    GmbH is simply the name for a commercial business form in Germany, like Corp. is in the United States.
     
  17. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    U are right. However many people have no update issues.
    Nag can be killed BTW.
     
  18. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    It would be a good deal if it had the mail scanner.
    Something to seperate it from the free version.
     
  19. hbkh

    hbkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    It's not a clone. They developed their own frontend and are just using avira's engine... ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.