Ashampoo AntiSpyware betas?/x64 bit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by shakethebabyass, Jan 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shakethebabyass

    shakethebabyass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    I have a subscription to Ashampoo Antispyware, however I now have 64bit Windows 7 and AA only works on 32. Is anyone aware of how to get a beta is one exist that may work on my machine? I have contacted them but they never reply with a direct answer.

    Thanks.
     
  2. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Ashampoo AntiSpyWare and Ashampoo AntiVirus will be replaced by Ashampoo Anti-Malware soon.

    Don't know what that means for owners of valid licenses for AntiSpyWare and AntiVirus.

    Ashampoo Anti-Malware is a clone of a2 Anti-Malware and will be released on 20. January.

    Preview of the German GUI:
    http://typemania.de/presse/wp-content/ashampooantimalware1screen1.jpg

    Cheers
     
  3. shakethebabyass

    shakethebabyass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    Thank you very much. That is good to hear maybe they will offer it for 64 bit based machines.

    Do you know if it is possible to get it now or a beta version?

    Thanks Again.
     
  4. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    I think it offers the new Emsi engine, so it should support x64.

    Nope, there is just a press release on the German Ashampoo site, nothing else.
    As it's most likely just a rebrand of a2 there is not much to test.

    Cheers
     
  5. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Ashampoo Anti-Malware uses a licensed dualengine of Emsisoft. Guard components and GUI are made by Ashampoo, it's not a rebrand or 'clone' actually. Or would you call GData a clone of BitDefender too? ;)
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    For how long has Ashampoo made a guard component? I thought they only offered OEM licenses and a different GUI. Ashampoo AS 2 did not have the A2 malware-ids (whatever it's called) and there was no other "guard" that I was aware except for some basic settings. But I had not heard Ashampoo made any guard of their own.
     
  7. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Well, wrong guess, now I know better.

    Cheers
     
  8. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Ashampoo never used guard technology from Emsisoft, just the scan engine that was used by guard and scanner. They have made the onExecution guard for Antispyware as well as the new guard for their upcoming Anti-Malware by themselves.
     
  9. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Ashampoo Anti-Virus used Avira in the past, did they drop Avira to use a-squared and Ikarus engines?

    What I heard was Ashampoo was going the use a-squared engines with Avira in their new Anti-Malware product.

    Can anyone verify the truth?

    By the way Ashampoo Anti-Malware is released.
    http://www2.ashampoo.com/webcache/html/1/product_2_0249___USD.htm


    Thanks.:)
     
  10. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    According to what I've heard, Ashampoo AS uses a-quared's engine, while Ashampo AV uses Avira engine.

    Since the a-squared's engine gets updated and is now covering a larger field (virus + spyware), Ashampoo releases Ashampoo Anti-malware (a-squared & Ikarus) to replace both its AV and AS products.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.