as to Multi-snapshot in win7, a bug?

Discussion in 'General Returnil discussions' started by darkwolf_99, Jan 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Multi-snapshot is a smart thing. But in win7, after restoring, the system cannot start. The only thing I got is black screen and a cursor. And then I have to restart system with ctrl+alt+del.

    If it is a bug in win7, please solve it. Thanks a lot in advance.
     
  2. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi darkwolf_99,
    This is not expected and not encountered in the lab. During the restore at restart, did you see the "DOS" style holding screen while the restore completed?

    Mike
     
  3. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Hi Mike,

    When I chose to restore in win7, Multi-snapshot needed to restart the system. And after PC self-check, the restore screen appeared. But after restore, an empty and black screen except a cursor is what I only got, not my Startup menu.
     
  4. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Take me through, step by step, exactly what happened and when. Also include any/all error messages you received (if any). Go from the install through the restore.

    Mike
     
  5. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    When restoring, there is a screen designed by your guys, right? And after that, there is only black screen and a cursor. PC has no any respond. There isn't any error messages.
     
  6. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, it should be a DOS style screen with purple highlights, copyright information, and a restore progress "spinner" on the right side.

    I am discussing your report with the project lead and will reply as soon as possible with feedback. Is your system a multi-boot configuration?

    Mike
     
  7. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks for your efforts. My OS is not a multi-boot configuration
     
  8. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    hope to release new version soon and support hibernation in win7
     
  9. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    What type and model of hard drive are you using?
     
  10. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
  11. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Ok - I have updated the lead and will reply back as soon as possible.

    Mike
     
  12. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36

    Hi Mike

    It has been resolved or not?
     
  13. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi dark_wolf,
    The issue is not related to Win 7, but to the type of hard disk you are using and it is still being investigated. Due to the nature of what the RMS Utility does, we are aware of the difficulty in adequately capturing what is happening and why it is happening. Further, you are so far the only one reporting this problem which adds more layers of complexity in determining the root cause.

    Though the answer to the following question is likely to be "no", I ask to be complete in my part of the investigation. Do you have access to:

    1. An RS-232 cable?
    2. An alternate system with enough resources to monitor the problem computer remotely (from outside)?

    Mike
     
  14. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    I have no such hardwares. I think it is better for RMS to auto-restart OS after restoring. Maybe it can solve the problem. Some guy ever told me.

    In a Chinese forum, Kafan, there is another user who has such problem with win7.
     
  15. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi darkwolf,
    See your PM and let me know.

    Thanks
    Mike
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.