ARP cache poisoning attack

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Pfipps, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pfipps

Pfipps Registered Member

I am on a college network and keep on logging "ARP cache poisoning attack." Could this be a false positive? It keeps on logging it at least once every 20 seconds. I might have to notify the IT department.

2. Pfipps

Pfipps Registered Member

Is some snoop trying to see what other people are doing on my network? Hell, they might be looking at this message right now.

3. MasterTB

MasterTB Registered Member

Maybe another PC on the network has some bot/trojan on it. Maybe is your NIC that is malfunctioning.
    It happened to me that I kept getting DNS cache poisoning attack, it was not an attack neither was ESS, it was My router that was sending the wrong information.
    Sory I can't be more especific but i'm no expert in the matter.

4. Pfipps

Pfipps Registered Member

I also notice that there is no IP or port information for the ARP attack, so I really don't know where it is coming from. Are there any IT experts at Eset who know how the firewall and local networks work? How would my NIC be malfunctioning? The NIC driver maybe?

I read that many network sniffers use this poisoning.

5. mvdu

mvdu Registered Member

I still got that during my short evaluation of ESS. I'm waiting until the problem with images is fixed to consider trying it again. I would get the ARP cache poisoning alert, and there was no info. except for 0 for the port (I think it was that at least.) I also have a router.

6. Pfipps

Pfipps Registered Member

Are you on a local network, or do you use an ISP, broadband or not?

7. NOD32 user

NOD32 user Registered Member

ARP is sent on a broadcast address in the format following from http://www.erg.abdn.ac.uk/users/gorry/eg3561/inet-pages/arp.html: