Are we stuck with the new version updater in order to use the XP Updates page?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by HandsOff, Jan 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I've tried installing SP2 with the disk.
    I've tried it using XP updates, Xpress updates
    I've tried it using the Windows Updates Catalog

    The only things I have learned is
    1) SP2 is not going to work on my computer
    2) the new(er) version, i think V5 seems to have some problems

    I read a MS bulletin about how it truncates some update downloads. I may have saved it, or it may have when with the last SP2 induced melt down.

    anyway, here i am trying to re-install SP1. I have no more fight left in me. I am going to use the automatic updates, at least until I am current. But now, of course, i am going to have to install the new update software. Aside from the update article I read, I recall that last time I installed it, I found that I ran much slower, and less reliably than the old one. (Do you detect a common theme here?)

    Has anyone heard? Has it been purified, and is now safe for consumption? Probably its take it or leave it, but just thought I'd put it out there...

    - HandsOff


    P.S. - If there is a long delay before I respond, I am out buying a funeral wreath for my computer!
     
  2. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    Becuase you did not post any technical details of your PC..all i can offer you is this..and you should read it all.

    What to Know Before You Download and Install Windows XP Service Pack 2

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/sp2/sp2_whattoknow.mspx


    and here

    http://www.emachines.com/support/view_faq.html?faq=1092091801&topic=3

    http://www.unbf.ca/its/techstaff/level1/fix_it/xpsp2.htm

    If you are already having problems..just doing it with the CD..then it is time to start troubleshooting and for you to tell us what error messages you are getting and when
     
  3. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
  4. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Hi Primrose,

    I know I sound a little crazed, the problem is that I think I am making the mistakes long before the error messages. The error messages have been many, and up until now, i have been going back to square 1.

    your advice is very good and i just did a post asking for some specific install advice. my current install is going good. if it goes south AND I CAN STILL CONNECT i will try to be more specific.

    My original post was just a fishing expedition to see if there was some trick to using the v5 consumer updater. Actually...I think I may have figured it out, but thats another story.

    some of the stuff that that i was dealing with was:

    - Last night, NAV was fine But NPF would not allow anything to pass.
    (have not reached that point yet today)
    - winlogon.exe entry point not found
    - the procedure entry point Associsdangerous could not be found
    - user interface MSGINA.dll cannot load
    - Win32.sys will not load
    - NTFS Junctions (symbolic links) ...some problem
    -------------
    Today
    I reformatted this morning, and had this dilemna, but of course no way to connect to ask how to choose:

    when i went to reformat using the xp install disk it said that there was in addition to c: with 37.x GB there was unpartioned space of a whopping 8 MB.
    since i do not recall (which means nothing) seeing that before, i tried this morning using Vicom Partition Commander in the boot mode to resize C: to include everthing. It reported success, but when i went to reinstall windows XP it said that i still had the unpartitioned space, and that i was installing to a partion that already had an O/S which is not recommended.
    My interpretation: The dumb xp installer formatter is simply repeating the same choice it gave me when i exited the installation to use another program to get rid of the unpartitioned 8 mb (since i could not figure out how to do it with the xp partioner). I believe it is MEANING that i am installing to an "active" partition that POTENTIALLY has an operating system on it, but is infact blank. Agree?

    so you see, i am not very far into the process before i am having to guess what is going on! Anyway, the big think now is will NPF 2003 work. I really like it. It is just this kind of bull-headedness that makes it a strong firewall!

    Sorry if my question was too general. My ongoing problem is that I read the choices and they always seem to vague to me. So I end up asking kind of questions like do i have to use V5 updater, because it would not be unlike microsoft to give you the worst version, and not tell you where to get the good one. Not that they necessarily do it on purpose. they probably think the choices are obvious.

    - HandsOff
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    When i installed sp2 with the microsoft disc it would wipe out the drivers for audio and video on three different attempts. Then I downloaded the sp2 version for IT specialist here it installed and has worked without problem since about seven months ago. if you can't install sp2 from win downloads or from microsoft downloads try the install at the link, it worked perfectely for me when tha sp2 disc wouldn't install right.

    bigc

    use this option, it works perfect on a single comp.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Thats interesting big C, and the first encouraging news about it that I have heard in a long time.

    For IT experts. I'm no expert, but...You know it says in the files and folders search panel something about only changing the searching method if you are an expert, or experienced user, or something like that.

    It's sort of commical to me that some users my be using the default setting to this day. If you don't know what I mean then look at the bottem of the search panel where you probably see a galumphing canine and see how much simpler life can be!

    Think I may settle for what I had, if i ever get it back. Or until I need a new project...

    - HandsOff
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    Correct that is what it means.
    No you do not have to use the Undater.

    I Never ever use IE for anything, and do all my udating from Microsoft's TecNet Security Bulletin Search:- Microsoft TechNet: Home

    Doing it that way you can save all the updates to HDD and then Burn to CD or DVD. [have all mine from W2K pro sp1 to sp4 plus all critical udates, and XP Pro sp1/sp2 and all critical]

    Have a good poke round in there, your fined everything you ever need for all Microsoft Product and OS's.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    It looks just the same as the regular sp2 except that it supports networking a lot more. but it operates just the same. except that it works for me.
     
  9. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    That's a big difference, Big C

    XP is really pretty good about drivers and compatibility, but when something doesnt install right...

    And to Quest. That was sort of the route I was trying to follow using the update catalog and downloading and saving over 150 updates. The problem I have had is that installing in the right order can make a difference, and that there seems to be a practice of using the same name for different versions of updates. then it gets confusing, especially if more than one can be installed! Sometimes you can figure out by the date released. sometimes you can figure out the date released by the MS-xxx buletin number. Sometimes you can figure out what was included in a cumulative update. I can be ALMOST fun at times. But now i am thinking, update everything with the automatic IE system until I am as up to date as i can. then, if i switch to a safer method like the one you present i should be able to keep up. Going from plain oem XP to fully updated sp1 using only individual downloads would require a very well organized method, and lots of supplimental info that i lack. Still, i will try out Technet if you can do as you say.

    - HandsOff
     
  10. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    No1

    You do not need to have or see all those updates.

    I will do some sceen shots.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    No2


    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    No3


    Take Care,
    TheQuest
     

    Attached Files:

  13. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    Once SP2 is installed

    No4


    Take Care,
    TheQuest
     

    Attached Files:

  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    No5


    Take Care,
    TheQuest
     

    Attached Files:

  15. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    No6

    Image was bad sorry, but you see how to go any.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest
     
  16. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    You will have noticed I have unpicked three boxs to, it is upto you do to have poke around as you like. :D

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  17. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Hi Quest -

    Definitely looks like a better way to do the downloads. Still, if you have been saving them, which I think is a great idea. Let's face it, if you are online downloading updates and installing them, and trouble shooting them, during that time you are wide open to a lot of threats. I'd love to do most of the updates off line, but there are some that have to be done online, aren't there? DirectX, and IE updates come to mind, and XP SP1, and all the others that say download size is x MB to y MB, only what you need will be downloaded. I have not seen full downloads for everything, but I have not checked out your resource yet. It would be awesome if you could actually install all the protections before going online!

    - HandsOff
     
  18. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, HandsOff

    You can do all the download from Microsoft TecNet Home: and save to disk, then install offline.
    ieDirectX is TechNet Home:>Downloads>it is No10. [it is a disp pack the same as SP2]

    IE you will get after you Install SP2 and do the search as in #14 above.

    After you Insall of SP2, there is only one the critical update which is for IE, [two if you use server] or you can search for the number that is in the screen shot. [So you can get them before you install SP2]

    Every thing is there it just takes some digging and poking to finding your way round. :)

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:

    PS: The screen here shot is a search as in #14 but without the Bulletin release date set.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 4, 2005
  19. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    when i went to reformat using the xp install disk it said that there was in addition to c: with 37.x GB there was unpartioned space of a whopping 8 MB.


    Do not worry about that 8MB..it is your cache or buffer as they call it..it is built in your drive..not to be partitioned.
    ormally when HD's use their cache and buffer it isn't for data that the OS is asking for. It is to store extra data from adjacent tracks in anticipation that the operating system would call for that data next. Then the HD already having this in memory can offer it to the HD faster than having to go and read the next track.


    It's like having 3 heads read a sector, the middle head is the one reading what you need at that moment, and the other 2 heads are reading and storing in the buffer stuff that is near what you need hoping you will need that next. That's how HD buffers had always worked from my understanding.

    see here for more details


    http://groups-beta.google.com/group...3dcb9?tvc=2&q=why buffer cache 8mb hard drive


    I still cant figure out why all these other posts are here telling you different places to get updates and the SP2 or what ever..but do you have the free SP2 disk that Microsoft will send out to you or you can get for free at many of the computer stores ??
     
  20. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Primrose

    They are all in one place from Microsoft at Microsoft TechNet: Home, and it is so HandsOff can get Post SP2 updates with out using IE.

    As I said, i do not use IE for any thing, it I can not reach any site which must have IE to use it I do not use it, If I need to buy software which only uses IE, they do not get my Custom.

    If you like using IE good luck. o_O [please do not jump up and down, it is said as a joke]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  21. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Hey primrose, that was very interesting about hard drives. For some reason I really like to understand facts like that about the computer. I have observed that cache is built into a hard disk, but had no idea what determined what was in it. I would have guessed it was some sort of meta data relating to where was the most likely spot the stylus would be placed based on statistics about the current read/write activity.

    You did not say it but I will make the the inference that when the hard drive is shut down, it dumps the contents of the cache to the hard drive. Hence the unpartitioned space. I should have known! but i only thought it was a 2 mb cache hard drive simply based on its age.

    As to why people are telling me where to download sp2, I am guessing they are pretty sure that If I was stubborn enough to try sp2 this many times, I am likely to do it again.

    I tried first with the update disk, second with the auto update, and third, by trying to use the microsoft update catalog downloads. Something is not working.

    I want to thank the Quest for pointing me in the direction of a better way to find and keep up with downloads. I used to think, just do auto updates, but have been totally disillusioned when I have checked with belarc adviser Microsoft Basline Security Analysis Tool and my download and install history, not to mention the unistall folders and found that they all have differing opinions. I think if your computer is criticle to your work or your sanity you really have to take control of the downloading and installation of updates. Anything else is just click and hope.

    Thanks everyone for the good information!

    - HandsOff
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.