Are old backups deleted?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by skaz2k, Apr 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skaz2k

    skaz2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    I am trying to create a scheduled acronis backup to backup my C drive to a seperate hard disk on the computer. I know that if you create a Secure Zone on C drive it will automatically delete old backups and replace them with new ones if the Secure Zone is full. But if I do a full backups of my C drive to a seperate hard disk, will the old backups be deleted when the backup hard drive is full?

    Thank for the support.

    Al
     
  2. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Firstly you should never create a secure zone on your system drive because you will lose both the system and the backup if your drive fails. Your secure zone should be located on a separate drive.

    To answer your question, yes old backups will be deleted if you are backing up to secure zone on a separate hard disk but not if you are just creating backups on a separate hard disk by specifying a backup filename and location. Acronis manages the secure zone for you but if you create backup files by specifying a backup filename and location then you will have to manage that yourself.
     
  3. skaz2k

    skaz2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks pjb024 i'm setting it up now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.