Archive not splitting

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Joe Zydeco, Mar 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joe Zydeco

    Joe Zydeco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Using TI 10 Home, Build 4940. I set the Tools>Options to split at 1GB, and that number shows in the backup window, but I end up with a single 4.5GB file. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Try 1.0 GB instead of just 1 GB - just a guess.
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Or a 1492MB setting will permit 3 files per DVD.

    If using the Rescue CD, this must be set for each backup. Tools/options only applicable to images created in Windows mode.
     
  4. Joe Zydeco

    Joe Zydeco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Seek & Grover, thanks for your suggestions, but they didn't work for me. When I entered "1.0 GB", it translated to "1 GB" and when I entered "1492MB", it translated to "1.457 MB" (go figure). But still, TI would not split the file for me.

    I found the answer to the problem, but I don't like what I found. In the User's Guide, a sentence in Section 5.3.6 states: A backup destined for a backup location or Acronis Secure Zone cannot be split.

    I was using a backup location because it lets me control the total number and/or size of the backup files allowed in a folder.

    So I tried again, providing a plain old path for a destination, and it split just as I specified. Seems I have to choose either the advantage of split files or the advantages of the "backup location" concept. It's just my personal preference, but I prefer to burn a DVD in ISO mode rather than UDF, so I want the ability to split files down below the 2GB limit.

    ~Off topic comments removed~

    And thanks again to you folks for offering to help.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2007
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Thanks for posting the reason. I use Ti9 which doesn't have "backup locations" and I had forgotten about the Secure Zone. Your problem is of no consequence when archives are stored in the Secure Zone because you can't access them to make a copy to DVD anyway.

    FWIW, I always split at 1492 MB like GroverH mentioned since 3 fit nicely on a DVD and you get to use the ISO file system rather than UDF. I agree it isn't a big deal but just the way I like it too.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.