APT Kill Question

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Rainwalker, Dec 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Greetings,
    When using kill test it seems that Kill 4 never pops ups a window. The highlighted line jumps to the next line above and in some processes this behavior shows itself with Kill # 4,and or 5 and 6. With Mozilla, for example it is Kill 4, 5, and 6. Also, with TH I Allowed write, read, terminate, setinfo and suspend in order to stop the logging. Can i safely do this? o_O

    TIA
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Rainwalker, Your APT problem is known, it does sometimes jump to the programme above but shows no message. :) OK as long as the protected process is not killed.

    TH should not need to be Allowed t0 Write, terminate, setinfo and suspend, unless you specifically require TH to T. T S & S protected (PG listed) For instance if you Had Task Manager as a listed app you may want to give it a terminate & read access so that, if necessary, you could terminate a listed programme.
    Allowed enablements always overide Blocked enablements within the PG list

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for getting back Pilli...... so how do i prevent TH from logging. :doubt:
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ah, Now I do not know the answer to that :( Maybe a case of trial and error yo find the solution. KAV logs quite regularly in my PG log, I just clear the log avery now and then :)
    Having said that maybe allowing TH "getinfo" & "read" may help.
     
  5. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    This is the way I prevent the logs being filled up. Because the allowed privileges affect only the processes guarded by PG, you can safely do this.
    Dolf
     
  6. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you folks :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.