Applications settings backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Paul Loseby, Apr 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Loseby

    Paul Loseby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I hope someone can help me please. I have just bought True Image 10 Home and one of the things I am struggling with is backing up my own application settings. When I try to backup my Application Settings, it shows programs that I don't have and very few that I do. Can I add to the list of backupable application settings?
    Many thanks
    Paul
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I have never bothered with this fairly new TI "feature" .
    All one needs do is to backup the OS drive,which also normally contains all your applications. Thus all your applications and their settings will be included in the backups.

    Xpilot
     
  3. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    My sketchy understanding of the My Application Settings feature in TI 10 is that if you have one of the programs Acronis has listed, with the version of the program Acronis has listed, with the files and perhaps registry entries in the locations Acronis expects to find them, then the square for that program will be outlined and you can check it. If you don’t have the program or correct version or something else doesn’t match, the square cannot be checked. Acronis has stated in this forum that they will be adding to the list, although they haven’t yet in two subsequent builds since the TI 10 release.

    This is just my opinion, and I’m very willing to be contradicted, but I see no reason to use or even trust this feature. As Xpilot says in his reply, you’re much better off with a partition image that covers everything and doesn't leave you guessing.

    CatFan
     
  4. Paul Loseby

    Paul Loseby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Many thanks both - I shall just stick to the OS drive backup as suggested

    Kindest regards

    Paul
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Paul Loseby,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please have a look at this previous thread <Application Settings Backup>, which describes how "My Application Settings backup" option of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home works.

    Note that we are going to increase the list of the supported application in the future.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  6. ramasaig

    ramasaig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Isle of Mull, Scotland
    I too came looking for information on what could be a very useful feature. I'm greatly disappointed: what I find is a list of programs I've NOT got, and most I've not heard of (after 22 years as a computer user). The only ones I can actually back up are the constituents of MS Office.

    One looks forward to additions 'in the future', but Acronis need to remember that not everyone choses to have the very latest version of everything. For example, I have PaintShop Pro 8, and have no intention of upgrading because later versions are generally inferior.
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The fact it will always only handle selected applications makes its value very (and for many, very, very, very) limited. I can see the intended usefulness where you can reinstall a misbehaving app and then instantly configure it to your preferred settings. You can't do this by going back to an old image because it will either be corrupted as well or restoring it will make everything else out of date.

    That's the idea but the reality is that if you use an app a lot then you can probably very quickly set it up to your liking and if you don't use it much then it likely isn't a big deal anyway. Those of you who have read many of my other posts also know I am not against doing setups from time-to-time anyway just to keep it fresh in my mind.

    With many word-processing/spreadsheet apps the serious issue is having access to backups of macros and templates, not worrying about some preferred file location. Perhaps, I am over-simplifying?

    Application settings isn't a feature I'd use, even if I could.
     
  8. ramasaig

    ramasaig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Isle of Mull, Scotland
    I've backed up data before, but not OS or applications. Having recently had an (as yet) unexplained WinXP crash I have had to reinstall from scratch. Hence my initial interest in backing up Settings. However, this time I have also made an image of the OS partition, and with it (presumably) all the apps and their settings, and the Registry.
     
  9. Maxwel

    Maxwel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Why is TrueImage itself not included in the supported applications? BTW, where does TI store its settings?
     
  10. kingsdave

    kingsdave Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Good question.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.