Apple MAC Time Machine?

Discussion in 'all things Mac' started by bellgamin, Jan 14, 2021.

1. bellgamin

bellgamin Registered Member

As a Windows user, I make an image of my C drive every couple of days, onto a separate Hard Drive (HD), & retain images at least 1 month. I want to continue the same practice when I use my MAC.

I am studying a User's Guide pending delivery of my new MAC laptop o/a Jan. 27. From what I have learned so far, MAC's Time Machine (TM) looks like it is much more powerful than Windows System Restore. However, I am uncertain as to whether TM is the equal of, say, Macrium Reflect.

==>QUESTION: Can TM fully restore my MAC if I have a major crash, or if I have to replace my HD, or if I futz around too much & screw up key system files?

2. Spartan

Spartan Registered Member

Correct. It's like Macrium Reflect, but creates snapshots constantly, and it's built into the OS natively.

3. Alec

Alec Registered Member

Time Machine's default use case is a little different, but sort of overlaps.

Time Machine is more geared for the situation where you accidentally deleted a file that you know you had back in a certain folder a month ago, or you accidentally overwrote your file several weeks ago and you didn't realize it until today when you went back and opened it for some reason. In those type of cases, you can click on the Time Machine menu bar applet and click "Enter Time Machine" and the app will present you with a Finder window, and you can "scroll back in time" to basically any month and day for which you had Time Machine running, and you will see how your files and directories changed over time. You find your file or folder, select it, click restore, and... presto... you have your file back. So Time Machine is basically a versioned, incremental backup that is always occurring in the background.