AppGuard offers of assistance accepted

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by AaLF, Oct 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I have just installed AppGuard to see how it feels & maybe qualify as a permanent member as it seems to have a bit of cult following.

    Keep in mind my current existing setup:

    Look n Stop FW
    SandBoxie
    ..................
    AppGuard (trial)

    Step one: internet access. What's the alternative to running Appguard in the 'OFF' position?
     
  2. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    AppGuard shouldn't interfere with your Internet connection, so you should be able to run it using any of its protection levels.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Agreed. The only reason I ever have of lowering Appguard protection is installations and upgrades.

    Pete
     
  4. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks for replying. I'm in the middle of playing with another setup for now. I'll PM you guys with your permission for guidance when I get back to appguard if thats ok?
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Yes, or ask here so all can benefit.
     
  6. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks for replying Pete. I've just installed Malware Defender to see what its about before I hget around to AppGuard. MD seems typically classical with its pop-ups for processes.

    Are these two similar? For those who have experienced both, perhaps some comments?
     
  7. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    There's a discussion about the similarities and differences between AppGuard and classical HIPS (using Comodo Defense+ as an example) in the following thread that may be of interest: Why not just AppGuard?
     
  8. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    That darn Comodo coming into the picture again. Granted Comodo has some big pluses and plenty of 'runs on the board' but I find I have taken a disliking to the way they present their control console. I just dont get a warm fuzzy feeling from it.

    Between MD & AG which one is a 'smoother operator' blending into the background and just going about doing its job quietly? (hope that's fair question)

    I should also mention that my permanent members are SBiE & LnSFW & Spyshelter working on XP. I tried Defensewall but it seemed to simplistic and I felt my PC was lagging at times, slow to open etc with DW.
     
  9. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    The reason why Comodo Defense+ was used as an example to discuss the similarities and differencies between AppGuard and a classical HIPS was because the question as to why not just use Defense+ instead of AppGuard had been raised by a previous poster in the same thread. It wasn't a recommendation for Comodo as I made clear. The same considerations would apply to any classical HIPS, including MD, which is why I thought you might find it of interest; and it saved me from repeating myself here.

    MD is a classical HIPS and AppGuard is designed to work quietly in the background, so the answer to the question in the way you've framed it has to be AppGuard.
     
  10. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I run both with zero problems. It works for me but I realize that everyone's setup is different and it may not work for them. MD is just a great app for determining what's going on in the system. Personally, I wouldn't have a second thought running AG only on any setup. I believe it's that good.
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    exactly;)
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    I also would be very comfortable with Appguard, although I always run Sandboxie. However that said I do also run Online Armor. I've been with OA since either day 2 or day 3. It's kind of like that old slipper. :)

    Pete
     
  13. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Oh-oh. I had abandoned AppGuard as a unhappy experience. Pegr got me up and running with Sandboxie & Shadow Defender and I am very pleased with the setup. Even swore I'd give up my install software addiction now that I had a setup I was happy with.

    Then 'Kid_Shamrock' had to post this........

     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'm very happy with Comodo firewall, sandboxie and appguard. I know that comodo has the D+ but I think that appguards policy restriction is a little stronger. I also like the MBR guard and USB protection. It makes a great combo. It also is AV free.
     
  15. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    OK. The weekend is here. There's rain about outside. So I have loaded AppGuard. This time I have added the sandboxie rules so I am net accessible.

    What am I doing with AppG. Add a program when it doesn't open? And settings. Set to High? Does AppG inhibit saving files or is as long as its on the white list it has freedom?

    A few tips and suggestions? Which threads & webpages will benefit the novice?

    Thanks,
    AaLF

    *** If I close my sandboxed browser, when I try and open the browser again to return to the net, I'm told Firefox is already running to close it first (cannot find a running instance of it) or restart computer. I have to turn off APPG to use sandboxed firefox again.

    *** How come when I push the lever up to high its slipped back to medium when next I open AG?
     

    Attached Files:

    • agb.png
      agb.png
      File size:
      8.8 KB
      Views:
      215
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.